We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What It Used to Be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River's Inn Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
River's Inn Restaurant
York River Yacht Haven, 8109 Yacht Haven Road, Gloucester Point, VA 23062
(804) 642-9942
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Casual waterfront dining awaits you at the River's Inn Restaurant and Crab Deck in Gloucester Point. Executive Chef Robert Iaccarino brings you local culinary delight with cajun flare in a cozy atmosphere. We feature daily lunch and dinner specials from Chef Iaccarino, a recent transplant from New Orleans, he serves up local favorites as well as some creole staples. Now Including gluten free options and Vegetarian selections!
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not What It Used to Be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went for a birthday celebration this weekend based on the memory of a fantastic meal about 5 years ago. No offered refills on unsweetened tea, repeated requests for water, repeated requests for lemon with the fish, a very dried out fish special with bits of very cooked dried out crab meat and sauteed mushrooms, VERY fried seafood and hush puppies (all cooked in the same oil it seemed?). There is no basis for comparison with the prior outstanding experience and honestly can not recommend the drive from Williamsburg for either the food or service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    9
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Off season dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our extended family ate at The River's Inn on Saturday 3/30/13. There were 4 adults and 3 children in our party. We were practically the only people in the restaurant - so we got a nice table with a great view. We all commented on how fun it must be to be there in the summer and enjoy the bar scene outside!

The kids menu can't be beat $5.50 for a large portion of seafood or hamburger with fries (and a hush puppy!). I had the crabcake entree which was very good, but definitely could have used a little more spice. Everyone enjoyed their meals (crabcake sandwich, po-boy sandwich, fish and chips) but I everything just needed a little "something extra" I feel. We said hello to the chef on our way out. All in all, a good solid meal, but nothing really to crow about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I don't know what everyone is talking about but when we went to river's inn restaurant over the summer it was wonderful!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
“Over priced and quality of food is not there---”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is over priced and there was no flavor----it did not WOW us---it is not top quality cooking----
The waitress did not know the menu and was very very slow to serve us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Has been better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Have been here many times over the years. Love the she crab soup!
The indoor restaurant used to be 4 star now I give it a 2.5. The crab deck is still good and I think a better value.
Would love to see return to its height!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester Point, VA
Gloucester Point, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.