We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jessica's Sweet Shop Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jessica's Sweet Shop Cafe
6558 Main St, Gloucester, VA 23061-6114
(804) 693-5235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 41 restaurants in Gloucester
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I have never had a bad experience here. The pastries and coffee are so good and they are actually open during coffee time hours in the morning. I love it and would reccomend to EVERYONE!!!! <3

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    12
    5
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

You can't beat the fresh muffins, scones, and danishes that they offer each day here. Also, their breakfast sandwiches are crazy good. Top one of those off with the coffee that's always fresh and you are set for the day!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“UNFRIENDLY PEOPLE RUN THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

When we first moved to Gloucester, we tried stopping by Jessica's two times on two different days (one being Saturday). Both days they were closed. Finally, I caught them open. I walked up and the girl behind the counter looked at me like I was bothering her. No one was smiling. They all looked very unfriendly. I got the sweet roll that I believe had been sitting there a few days due to its texture. The icing tasted like it had gone bad. I paid and took my sweet roll. Not once did ANYONE there smile or thank me. I will never go back to this place. I am surprised that they are even in business with such bad customer service. I guess people are just getting use to crappy service nowadays.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Make sure you go here--it's great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Went to Jessica's for lunch and everything served was beyond expectations. The chicken salad sandwich served on fresh-baked raisin bread is to die for. I have never seen so many big chunks of white breast meat chicken served in a chicken sandwich. The fresh-baked bread was fresh and wonderful. My husband had the Reuben and it was chocked full of ingredients and served on fresh-baked bread too. The red-skinned potato salad was also delicious and the servings size was huge. They also serve breaksfast starting at 6:30 a.m. and we definitely plan to go back and try that too. The menu they just posted for breakfast was varied and included a 4-egg omelet with vegetable medley and cheese; scrambled egg selection with cheese, etc.; plus many other items. We plan on picking up some fresh-baked bread to bring home the next time we are in there too. They are open from 6:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday through Friday, and I'm not sure of the hours on the weekend. the staff is very friendly and helpful and was ready to answer any questions and to elaborate on the menu when asked about specific items. You'll be sorry if you miss this one.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
1 review
“The cinnamon rolls and scones are truly worth taking extras home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

The breads are always 'fresh baked' that day, and the have a great variety to choose from. There is bound to be something in there for everyone. I'm need to try their sourdough next, I can only imagine how good it is.
And the 'chocolate chunk chocolate brownies . . . not enough can be said for them. I think that the chocolate needs to be (if it's not already) said twice, they are that full of chocolate! Thick and rich, a sure cure for any sweet tooth that one might have! This is a definate "YES" for a recommendation!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jessica's Sweet Shop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jessica's Sweet Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jessica's Sweet Shop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.