We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Exceeded Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Warner Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Warner Hall to your Saves list
Inn at Warner Hall
4750 Warner Hall Road, Gloucester, VA 23061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wow! Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed on the historical property for two nights for a friend's recent wedding. The wedding party held all of their events on the grounds (i.e. rehearsal dinner, wedding, morning after brunch, etc.) so I was able to have breakfast and dinner twice at the Inn at Warner Hall. Before going into the details of the housing accommodations and the property I want to stress that the food was outstanding. Even if you don't have the opportunity to stay at the Inn at Warner Hall you should try to find a way to dine at this property if you're in the area. The chef is a talent and the Inn at Warner Hall have themselves a secret gem.

The Inn at Warner Hall sits about 5 miles away from Route 17 South off of a oil and chip tarred road. It's very quiet where the plantation house sits and at night the stars shine at full capacity. The Inn at Warner Hall has two ocean kayaks available free of charge for guests of the property. I took an hour and a half kayak ride up the river mid-day and saw several blue herons and egrets. The river was tranquil however, the bugs were quite the opposite. If you can remember - pack bug spray when in this part of the country.

If you're a history buff and planning a trip to tour America's historic triangle you should consider staying at the Inn at Warner Hall. You're a 20 minute drive to Yorktown, a 40 minute drive to Williamsburg, and 50 minutes to Jamestown.

The Inn at Warner Hall has several rooms to choose from, each being distinct from each other. I stayed in the Speaker Lewis room, which featured a working fireplace, a walk in closet and a living area. The grounds also have a hot tub and a hammock to aid in your relaxation. If I find myself in this part of the country again, I will seek out the Inn at Warner Hall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Theresa and Troy are consummate professionals but more importantly they are just plain nice folks who care deeply that they're hospitality is understood as genuine, sincere and compels you to return.
The accommodations are beautiful and comforting. The food was superlative, surpassed only by the overall ambiance and locale.
We were given the opportunity to experience this bucolic setting as the location of our son and daughter in laws wedding weekend.
From our arrival and the meet and greet party to the rehearsal dinner and evening bon-fire and on to the wedding ceremony and reception; all was absolutely perfect.
As if Steven Spielberg or Frank Capra were lingering on the outskirts of the entire proceedings, I’ve yet to think of any detail, from food to service to mood that could have been improved in any way.
If you are blessed with the same opportunity, I strongly recommend that you do all possible to avail yourself and make haste to share this wonderful spot with friends and family.

Room Tip: Any room is recommended. All are comfortable, clean and a slice out of our early American heritage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you're looking for elegance and comfort--modern amenities in a sumptuously decorated historic mansion--this is your place. Warner Hall boasts an impressive history, because it was once the plantation home of George Washington's great-great grandfather. It's been loving restored, with rooms that are large, comfortable and elegant.

We came here as part of a small family reunion, as it turns out we're one of the ancestors of the original family. It was the ideal gathering place.

The amenities are almost too numerous to list, but at every turn, the place exceeded expectation, thanks to the owners, Terry and Theresa.

Rooms overlook rolling Virginia farmlands, the river or both, if you're fortunate enough to have one of the corner rooms. There are bikes available for exploration, as well as canoes or kayaks. You can visit the Warner graveyard or just relax in a rocker on one of the wide porches.

Breakfasts are served daily, and they can't be missed! One morning we were there, they had French toast stuffed with a strawberry cream cheese. The second morning was the choice between blueberry pancakes or poached eggs on a bed of sauteed spinach with fresh asparagus. The Inn also serves dinners on weekends, but since we were there, I can't report on that.

Sodas and bottled waters were always available, as were coffees and teas. There were homemade oatmeal raisin cookies by the front desk, and bowls of chocolate.

I had to approach the staff about a need I had, and they were beyond accommodating. In fact everyone goes out of the way to do whatever they can to make sure you're happy with everything.

I already know which room I want to choose on my next visit. I can't wait!

Room Tip: Check to see where your room faces, if you have a preference. Be sure to let the hosts know if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a truly wonderful time for our first visit to Warner Hall. We have stayed at 7 other Select Registries, and this definitely ranks among the top. We used this as a relaxing Baby-Moon, and it satisfied our needs perfectly. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a beautiful plantation style home in a lovely tranquil location...nicely decorated...friendly, helpful staff. Dinner was good, as was breakfast. However, when you are woke up at 7am on a Sunday morning by jackhammers (they were putting in a 'patio' to better serve their wedding parties...which is fine, but at 7am on a Sunday when you have guests staying?) The bed in our room (which was spacious) was not comfortable at all and the room temp is supposed to be able to be controlled in the room -- however, it resets itself to the programmed temp every hour...which meant we were getting up every hour throughout the night to turn the heat off, so no rest...thankfully, we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This inn is quite elegant. It offers a step into the past with all the conveniences of the present. I combine my 2 night stay with the Gloucester Daffodil Festival in early April each year. The period rooms are lovely & the meals are delicious. There is a small bar in the inn that can prepare a mint julep to sip on the front or 2nd story porch while overlooking the vista. Just pretend you're Scarlett O'Hara or Rhett Butler. In that setting, it's not much of a stretch!
An extra bonus is the boathouse on the property. It's modern, decorated in a seashore motif with comfortable seating, a kitchen, bathroom, deck, fishing poles & water craft to use.
The Inn at Warner Hall has thought of everything!

Room Tip: The Mary Powell room is my favorite -- large, airy with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport news va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We wanted to find the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding. Fortunately we found Warner Hall in Gloucester, Virginia. We live in Newport News and had never heard of Warner Hall but was so impressed after finding their website and planning a visit.
What a jewel. Historic, pristine, every historic detail in place.
The Inn has 11 bedrooms, it is a bed and breakfast. The rooms are named for family members of the Warner/Washington families. George Washington’s great, great grandfather, a Warner, built the original house.
It is located on the Severn River three miles off of Rt. 17 in Gloucester. When you drive down Feather Bed Lane, take the right on to Warner Hall Road, and then turn into the actual property, you are in another world, another time.
We had much discussion with Theresa, the inn keeper, about the wedding plans. They had every detail in place. The menu is extensive and is overseen by their own award winning Chef Eric Garcia.
As much planning went into Kim and Brian’s wedding, much of the actual wedding was arranged by the staff at Warner Hall. Many of our family members stayed at Warner Hall. The beds are so comfortable and all the rooms are decorated exquisitely.
When one books the wedding, the contract stipulates that all the guests occupy the eleven rooms. Well we could have not been happier. We had the run of the Hall from Friday noon until Sunday noon. No other people would be on site. We were treated like family and no request went unanswered. Breakfast is included each morning and is a gourmet delight. The gourmet menu is fresh and delicious.
The day of the wedding went really well, with the staff walking us through every detail. Luckily the weather was in the 60’s after a cold and snowy winter. The wedding was held outside under the trees.
What a beautiful sight to see our daughter walked down the aisle by her father and my son sitting next to me watching Kim and Brian get married.
The reception was perfect. We had it under the new tent and patio just set up the week before. It was breathtaking to look out at the glorious grounds as we danced the evening away.
Our friends and wedding guests have not stopped telling us how wonderful the wedding was. From the historic venue of Warner Hall to the furnishings to the food they were in awe.
If you ever want to have the perfect event, consider Warner Hall or if you just want a get-away in the perfect location to rest and relax and be pampered, stay at Warner Hall. The ambience, the food, the views are amazing.
Theresa and Troy Stavens are the innkeepers and they will make your stay a special time in your lives…they made our daughter’s special day something we will never forget.
www.warnerhall.com

Room Tip: All of the Warner Hall rooms and wonderful and the beds are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Warner Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Warner Hall

Address: 4750 Warner Hall Road, Gloucester, VA 23061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Warner Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Warner Hall Hotel Gloucester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Warner Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.