We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sweet Stop” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Short Lane Ice Cream

Short Lane Ice Cream
6721 Geo Washington Memorial Hwy, Gloucester, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Sweet Stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A deliciously sweet stop in a very sweet looking shop. Very, very cute store where you can choose from many delicious flavors of ice cream, custard or sorbet. This shop is a throw back to another time and place of local ice cream parlors and soda shops. You will look forward to making this stop whenever you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Shop is the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you want excellent homemade ice cream, sorbets, sundaes, cones, milkshakes, etc., this is the one and only place to go. The atmosphere of an old-timey store just adds to the fun of visiting Short Lane. It may be a little pricey, but well worth it. We generally get some sort of ice cream and prefer it in a cup because the portions for a double scoop cone are so generous, it melts before you can eat it. My son and his family generally try to stop by there every time they get to Gloucester and an added benefit is that they usually bring a quart back to us. You have got to try Short Lane. You will definitely be in for a REAL TREAT!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently moved away from Gloucester to the Richmond area, and have yet to find a place that serves homemade sorbet that is as delicious and fairly priced as Short Lane's. They always have a wide variety of ice cream and sorbet and the customer service is superb. Every time my husband and I visit Gloucester, we try to stop by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent - a MUST stop!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place is excellent! It is an old building that has been beautifully restored and still old style ice cream parlor decorated. Ice cream is homemade on site and is absolutely amazing! The best ice cream I have ever had - any other ice cream will never taste as good! Have about 25 flavors to choose from: they always have a supply of the good ole favorites and they rotate out other special flavors on a seasonal basis. My personal favorites: coffee, banana, pumpkin custard (fall flavor of course), and Cantaloupe Sorbet (summer flavor of course). They are all made with real ingredients and just absolutely wonderful. They have seating inside or outside and also have flavors packed in containers to go. They open daily at 11am, except are closed on Mondays. So if you're visiting from out of town, do NOT miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Fun for all ages and tasty -- do wish they had more gelato, Italian ice flavors (just one offering of each for our visit).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Short Lane Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Short Lane Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Short Lane Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.