We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Cucina

Mama Cucina
4028 Cox Rd, Glen Allen, VA 23060-6701
(804) 346-3350
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The restaurant is tiny, with almost too many tables in too small of a space. The waitstaff is friendly and the service is quick. The food was just ok, and the portions rather small for the price. This may just be what I ordered, which was ravioli, but I have had better. The salad was delicious. I will say that they have a good wine selection, and make great recommendations. The decor is nothing special. I have been twice, and both times the noise level was so high I could not hear the person sitting across from me. Overall I walked out full, but it was not the memorable experience that many people have had. I've had better Italian.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holy Leftovers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Mama Cucina's in Innsbrook is one of the best italian restaurants in the Richmond area. All their pasta is homemade, the sausages and homemade, the sauces are homemade, and the portions are HUGE! We tend to go for lunch and are never disappointed. One pasta dish could suffice for 2, but their dishes are so good you can't settle on just one. If you can't decide, I usually recommed going with one of the daily specials. The servers are normally attentive but can be a bit rude at times. You really get the most for your money though, and there are always leftovers to take home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food...and Lots of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had dinner there on a recent trip. Very popular place and now I know why. Great selections...well prepared...lots of locals. Not fancy...just good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal I have had in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Small restaurant with big appeal. Sauce was excellent and service was great. Would definitely go back and eat there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding food at great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Passing through the area on the highway, we looked to tripadvisor for a place to eat. We were not disappointed! The salad was dressed perfectly, The dipping garlic oil for the toasted Italian bread was to die for, and our entres were delicious. This restaurant was a great stop after a long day on the road.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Mama Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.