We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large portions friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glen Restaurant

The Glen Restaurant
1000 Virginia Center Parkway, Glen Allen, VA 23059
804-727-1480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 132 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
ny,ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“large portions friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Food was delicious, the menu selection was different but mainstream enough for all. Everything was cooked well. The staff was friendly and quick to fulfill requests. Would eat here again if we stayed at the hotel!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Needed a new place to celebrate Thanksgiving this year while our house is being completed. Choice The Glen based on the buffet as our daughter and son-in-law are expecting.
Very nice selection she was just finishing the first trimester. Turkey and ham was tasty, many sides to choice from along with fresh veggies and fruit. Dessert selection could have been more plentiful as some don't/can't each chocolate. Would have also been nice for simple mash potatoes - again a personal preference of our daughter.
Serve was outstanding! Welcoming environment. Would go there again for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
604 helpful votes 604 helpful votes
“Happy Turkey Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

So my wife and I decided this year we would forego turning our home into a meal production facility for Thanksgiving. In years past we’ve always enjoyed picking the turkey, the vegetables, making the stuffing, and making the deserts from scratch. This year our family has grown and once we weighed the pros and cons of making our traditional Thanksgiving meal versus going to a restaurant, we opted to try an all inclusive Thanksgiving brunch.

We researched all the Thanksgiving venues in and around Richmond and decided on to give The Glen Restaurant a try. We made our reservations several weeks in advance with ease. We arrived on the beautifully landscaped grounds and with the help of signs, found our way to the restaurant. Parking was easy and once we entered the building found it festively decorated with a holiday theme. The maitre D, was very pleasant and friendly and escorted us to our table. Within minutes our server arrived, took our drink orders then explained where we would find the food selections.

The food selection consisted of the main Thanksgiving staples (Turkey, ham, cranberries, mashed potatoes, as well as several carving and cheese stations). A nice assortment of breads and fruits along with desert choices topped everything off. The atmosphere was inviting and unpretentious and the wait staff helpful and friendly. Given the overall cost, we might consider returning next year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“GREAT Buffets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visited for a week while on a business trip. The breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent and the staff is amazing. It does seem expensive - $15 for breakfast, with kids half price - but it went over well with the group and my family. Of course, thinking of paying that much for a bowl of cereal and a banana is kind of upsetting. And children are 11 and under not 12. But there is a great variety and always a chef to make something special (Caesar salad and quisadillas for lunch - waffles and omelets for lunch for instance). Plenty of fresh fruit (great pineapple), lots of choices. Great buffets.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice and accommodating staff. Good food. Very good buffet.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Glen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.