We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Mexican Grill and Tequila Lounge

Maya Mexican Grill and Tequila Lounge
4348 Pouncey Tract Road, Glen Allen, VA
804-360-0942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Richmond VA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a wonderful meal at Maya. Tucked away in an area just east of Short Pump town center (near the Regal Theaters) it was a very nice meal. Not your typical Mexican fare, but rather, an upscale version. The Chicken Tamale was fantastic. I definitely recommend a try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican/Columbian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Totally worth going. Not your typical Americanized Mexican joint. Great offerings with lovely fresh muddled tequila drinks. Everything we ate was spot on. Will return over and over again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hard to Think of The Right Words to Describe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just by chance my wife said last night, let's try that Maya Grill. Tucked in an out of the way shopping area I wasn't quite sure if I wanted to try it. Wow was I wrong and I have been trying to think of words to describe the experience.It has been hard but I will say "Grommet Modern Mexican" .
Maya as one of our servers said is an infusion of several Latin countries.Never have I enjoyed Latin more than I did last night at Maya.My steak fajita was smothered in onions,peppers ,and was full of choice strips of steak (so very good and not over cooked).My wife had the barbecued ribs with plantains and slaw.I had a triple milk cake with caramel drizzle and strawberry for desert and my wife had her second margarita .
We can say we will go back to Maya again and again even if I can't find the right words to describe an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hidden gem. Definitely the best Mexican in Henrico if not all of Richmond. Nice atmosphere and bar. My wife and I had drinks, appetizers, entrees, and desserts for under $70. Pleasant staff. This is my go to spot for Mexican in Richmond.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful, not your usual Mexican fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went for a birthday celebration. I had chile relleno stuffed with jumbo lump car, delicious. My son enjoy his ribs and salad too. Everything beautifully presented. Margaritas were too my liking not too sweet. They even brought a piece of tres leches cake with a candle in it. Service was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Mexican Grill and Tequila Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Maya Mexican Grill and Tequila Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Mexican Grill and Tequila Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.