We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, authentic- delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Chang's China Cafe

Peter Chang's China Cafe
11424 West Broad Street, Glen Allen, VA 23060
(804) 364-1688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 149 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampa Fl
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fresh, authentic- delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After places like P.F. Chang where everything tastes the same ( to me) this was a real treat!
We went to visit friends in Richmond who told us about the reputation of this place, though they had not yet visited. So happy they waited for us to go!
Really amazing flavor- not just sauce and heat. Loved the eggplant and Shan City Chicken but everything we ordered was very flavorful and delicious!

Last time we've had Chinese food that good was Chinatown in San Francisco and New York--may even surpass those places!
In a strip center adjacent to Walmart in a very unsuspecting location. You really need to know its there. Atmosphere is not the dragon/red/over done decor--just clean, medium size room packed with families, couples and groups of friends. Service was pleasant and prompt. Very casual, round tables, booths along the wall- not big on ambiance-but so good, no one cares!

No kidding, if you' re close, it's worth the drive into the congested Short Pump area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“My First Time...with Szechwan Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am much more familiar with Cantonese and Northern Chinese food so while I know Szechwan cuisine is "hot," I'm less familiar with specific dishes. A group of five of us went for Sunday night dinner. We had a reservation and were seated at one of several large round tables. The restaurant was nearly full with about 6 large round tables with Asians and then smaller tables of families and others. There was a sign on the door warning that some of the spices used might cause nasal irritation!
We ordered 3 apps: pan-fried dumplings, scallion bubble pancake and crispy pork belly (bacon). The bubble pancakes were like 2 big balloons that we tore apart and dipped in a light sauce with some cumin flavor to it. The pork belly was a little spicy but delicious. We had 4 main dishes, the smoke duck smothered with deep fried onions (better than onions rings!), beef stir fry, green beans with ground pork (delicious), and whole boneless fried fish. I don't usually like sweet and sour and there was a bit too much sauce for my taste but the fish was terrific, perfectly cooked and a little of the sauce was good.

As for cost, it came to about $20 pp including tax and tip. We did not have any alcohol or dessert but we were all full and there was just a little left over for tomorrow's lunch. We do not live in Richmond but would return to this restaurant...we thought it was the best in the Richmond area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The best Chinese food I have had in the US hands down! I had heard of it but never thought it ld be this good. Fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Different take on Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We also high expectations based on reviews and friend's comments. The four of us shared three appetizers Hot and Numbing Dried Beef, Bubble pancake and Dry-Fried Eggplant. The beef was very spicy and had many peppers included. The pancake and eggplant helped contain the spice. We were glad we had ordered beer. We had asked the waitress for help in deciding what to get. Service was wonderful. We then sampled four entrees - Whole Fish, Tea Smoked Duck, Dry-Fried Green Beans and Shredded Pork with Bamboo Shoots and shredded Tofu. The fish is cooked in a sweet sour sauce which is a bit much but everyone enjoyed it. The duck was wonderful and was surrounded by Fried Onion pieces, the greens beans were tasty and not overcooked. Least enjoyed was the port - there was not much pork but there was plenty of tofu. That dish was hardly touched, So none of these dishes were spicy. We all felt like we had eaten too much and too much friend foods. On a return trip I would try lighter dishes. Again the service was wonderful and there was a crowd. We were glad we had made reservations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had very high expectations for our visit for all of the obvious foodie reasons, and the expectations were surpassed. This was an incredible treat. The combination of flavors and textures was over-the-top.

Unlike so many (most) Szechuan places, the entrees were made from fresh ingredients had very distinctive spices that really popped. The food is dry and served on plates, not from bowls with the formerly canned ingredients swimming in a gluey soup. Best of all, the dishes marked as hot, were actually hot, and could be even hotter by crushing some of the red chilies that were abundant in the dishes.

Our table tried six selections. The consensus favorite, a tough choice because they were all so good was the Shan City chicken. The runner-up was the twice cooked pork. The eggplant in garlic sauce was shared by all and was excellent.

The restaurant is a plain storefront in a typical suburban strip center. Service is prompt and focused, not too engaging.

As is indicated in other reviews, the spice levels and the use of red chilies is extensive. Most of the aromatics are easy to smell from outside the place, and can be intense inside, similar to some Korean restauants. We enjoyed the aromas and the sensation from the red chilies in the air, but it might not be best for guests with bland preferences.

If we lived anywhere with a 50 mile radius, I would be there once per week. If your idea of great Chinese food is PF Chang, and you can handle the spice, this is where you can take your game to the next level.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Chang's China Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Peter Chang's China Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter Chang's China Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.