We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new, swanky, but prefer hyatt place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Richmond West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Richmond West to your Saves list
aloft Richmond West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Duckling Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Glen Allen
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“new, swanky, but prefer hyatt place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Not really my style, but a nice, new, modern place. If you like being in the heart of shopping, without amenities like pool, massage parlor, and room service, it's fine. Short stay was a couple of days, wasn't impressed, for the same money you get more out of the hyatt place, just avoid the one in Innsbrook, horrid condition for a Hyatt Place, try the one by the Airport (new) or the one in Southside is better run. But overall, the A loft is for younger folk that don't care about space and would rather have "bling" of a room, though it's about the size of a 24' X 24' room in total.....not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaloft, General Manager at aloft Richmond West, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your patronage. I am sorry to hear that we were not your particular cup of tea. While we understand that we can't be all things to all travelers, it is still our goal to ensure that each of our guests enjoys their time with us. I hope that, in spite of the mis-match of travel styles, you were still able to enjoy your time in Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    72
    47
    33
    25
See reviews for
61
50
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

If you enjoy a frat house experience, aloft is the place for you! I hope to check out

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaloft, General Manager at aloft Richmond West, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We strive to ensure that each guest has an outstanding experience. If there is anything I can do to help you feel better about your stay, do not hesitate to contact my office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

If you are on business or with a family, stay away. This hotel advertises and promotes the homosexual lifestyle. There are several brochures at the front desk promoting gay clubs and meeting times at the Aloft. The night I stayed there was a very large group in the lobby but none of them were staying at the hotel. Caution: the front desk personnel are unprofessional and cannot handle any problem you have during your stay.
Guest rooms are all the same and is similar to living in a dorm room. Pillows are awful and water pressure is non-existent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaloft, General Manager at aloft Richmond West, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
I am disappointed to hear that you did not find Aloft to your liking and did not enjoy your time here. We work very hard to provide a unique experience for each of our guests and it seems we fell short on this occasion.

I apologize if you found any of our marketing collateral to be offensive. I assure you that this is not our intention. The brochure you mentioned in your review is not a guide to alternative lifestyle bars and rendezvous points. It is a map of downtown Richmond featuring restaurants, shopping, attractions, museums, parks, and galleries. The map is offered to our guests free of charge by the Richmond LGBTG Tourism alliance and, as such, it does bear the logo of GayRVA. However, the information within is of a general tourism nature and many of our guests find it to be a fantastic resource for all the best Richmond has to offer.

I assure you that the Aloft is dedicated to serving our entire community and we go out of our way to provide a welcoming home away from home to each and every traveler that we host. The only lifestyle we promote is the travel-life. Our goal is to provide a comfortable and exciting home base that helps each guest make their travel experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I spent a work week at the Aloft in October. It' a unique property with it's minimalist decor and trendy atmosphere. Specific problems I had were the very limited closet hanging space and the lack of effective soundproofing in the walls. One night I could literally hear every word of a couple's argument in he next room (she was right, BTW). On a positive note, there are several very good restaurants close by as well as a quality grocery store.

I imagine the Aloft is popular with younger guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaloft, General Manager at aloft Richmond West, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Greetings!

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your neighbors disturbed you. We strive to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience at Aloft. I'm saddened to hear that we fell short in this area. I am glad to hear that you got the vibe of the hotel and enjoyed the surrounding area. I hope we can host you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We (2 adults/1 child) stayed here for a short night. It was our first stay in an Aloft. Overall, it was OK. It's a different concept - trying to be very European. The staff was very nice and the room was fine except I found the bed to be lacking. Both my wife and I woke up with stiff backs due to the mattress. The bathroom was nice and my daughter loved the shower (walk in with large shower head). It's a Starwood Category 2 which sounds about right to me. All in all , fine but could be very nice with better beds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaloft, General Manager at aloft Richmond West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you liked our hotel overall. I'm sorry that you found the beds lacking. I know that a restful sleep is a priority when picking a hotel and I regret that you didn't get that. Mattress tastes are a very individual thing and, though most guests find the beds suitable, there are those for whom the beds simply don't meet their needs. I'm saddened to hear that you are one of these guests. It sounds like, excepting this one area, Aloft hotels would be a perfect home on the road for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

What A Weird Place Staff where pleasant but very unknowlagable.Rooms where so small kinda Creepy.Like a bad Dream from the Future.Would not reccomend staying there we found a place 1 mile down road Hotel Sierra little more money but much much nicer.We travel a lot so we feel we know good places this is not one we immediately brought are keys back could not imagine sleeping there checked out (with refund) and went to Hotel Sierra and were very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaloft, General Manager at aloft Richmond West, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Certainly the Aloft brand is unique in the industry and has a very different vision of travel from your ordinary hotel. While some guest find this refreshing and exciting there are certainly other guests who find that we don't meet their travel needs. I appreciate you giving us a look and I'm glad you were able to find a property that fit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed one night at aloft Richmond West. I was intrigued by the new hotel concept. Not so much anymore. This particular hotel had the lobby on the 2nd floor, with a confusing elevator system and no explanatory signs posted. While attempting to create a new decor in hotels, this one recalls Ikea or Target.

The rooms are a novel design, with a great new shower design. The rest of the room is a complete miss. In the two queen version, the only guest seating is beneath the wall-mounted TV

On our particular stay, upon arising, we found a note under the door advising us that there was no hot water. Congrats to management who decided not to charge for the room that night.

Not a big fan of the design.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaloft, General Manager at aloft Richmond West, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your patronage and your feedback. I apologize for the hot water issue. We suffered an unexpected mechanical failure on our boiler that left us without hot water until parts could be purchased and installed. I know this is no way to start your day and for that I sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Richmond West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Richmond West

Address: 3939 Duckling Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23060
Location: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Glen Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Richmond West 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Richmond West is set in the hot new West Broad Village lifestyle center, just minutes from shopping at Short Pump Town Center, the Innsbrook Office Park, and downtown Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your aloft Richmond West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Richmond West Hotel Glen Allen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Richmond West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.