We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold in the shower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10077 Brook Road, Glen Allen, VA 23059   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Glen Allen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mold in the shower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I would give this five stars for sure, but there is a lot of black mold and that makes me question how clean this place is. Im talk a ton of it. I'll try to post pictures.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
36
17
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband, my 3 year old son and I have stayed at the Courtyard for one night on our way to the Outer Banks. It is the 3rd year in a row we have stayed at this hotel, and it never disappoints.

I have always liked Marriott properties--they are always clean and user friendly. This hotel goes above and beyond many of the other Marriott's I've stayed at.

The lobby is open and inviting, and really quite pretty. There is a small counter type restaurant and bar, a large area to kick back and relax while using the WiFi or watching a large flat screen television, as well as Marriott's signature giant touchscreen information center where guests can access local restaurant info, weather reports, news and more.

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The woman who worked the overnight when we were there was full of information on local restaurants--what they offered, how to get there, etc.
Check in was quick and easy. I'm horrible with names, otherwise I would give her some serious kudos on this review!

We stayed in a King bedroom. It was large, clean and comfortable. We have also stayed in a King Suite on a previous visit, which is just as nice and has two rooms basically--a bedroom and a large sitting room. The suite is perfect if you have a young child and need a pack-n-play in the room. In both room types there is a pull out bed which is great for older kids. I am always amazed at how quiet the rooms are. I never heard anyone else even walking past our room. A big plus!

The pool and hot tub are nice, although the heated pool is still quite chilly, in my opinion. But my son did not seem to mind at all.

The hotel is located in a large retail area, so a number of restaurants are extremely close. We were able to walk to Red Robin, and a barbeque restaurant was also within walking distance (awesome when you've been trapped in a car for 8 hours).

With an awesome location that is easy to get to off of I-95, great staff, clean and comfy rooms, I only have good things to say about Courtyard Richmond North!

Room Tip: Haven't ever stayed in a bad room here. The suites are worth the extra money if you want extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My two children and I stayed at the beginning of August for one night. The hotel was easy to find and was located close to lots (and lots) of shopping and dining options.

The lobby is beautifully decorated and the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was huge and very comfortable.

We didn't use the pool or fitness center, but they both looked well-maintained.

The electricity went out about an hour after we checked in (due to a bad car accident close to the hotel). I went downstairs to get my laundry out of the dryer, since I thought it wouldn't be running. However, the ground floor still had electricity due to the generator and I was able to finish drying the clothes. The chief engineer was walking around checking everything and he let me know the power would be back on soon. The hotel handled the situation very well.

Overall, a very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed in the Courtyard in Glen Allen on our way to Washington D.C.. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly.

Overall a very pleasant stay - we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Lee_CY, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time and posting this review, we are in a great location for both I-95 and I-295 travelers. I’m very proud to work with so many outstanding people and couldn’t be happier that you took the time to recognize them! I hope to see you again during your next travel.

James Lee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for a quick overnight stay as part of a longer trip. The hotel is very convenient to I-95 though not the easiest to locate as it is in the back part of a mall. We arrived late at night and the staff could not have been friendlier. The hotel and rooms have been fully modernized and updated, we were pleasantly surprised. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning unit, while providing excellent cooloing, was very noisy. We checked out early in the morning and again the people at the front desk were extremely efficient and courteous. There are many choices for places to eat as well in the mall where this hotel was located. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay here again myself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 18 days in April. From the moment I arrived, the front desk staff was friendly and extremely helpful. I had recently had surgery and they helped me with my luggage and was extremely accommodating. The woman who worked at the cafe, had my breakfast memorized by the 3rd day. Everyone who worked at the hotel smiled and was engaging.

The rooms were very, very clean. The furnishings and dressings seemed to be recently updated and the room smelled fresh. The hotel is conveniently located and in a quiet location. I was able to work efficiently and sleep well. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Lee_CY, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Many thanks for sharing your experience, I’m very proud to work with so many outstanding people and couldn’t be happier that you took the time to recognize them! I hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for one night after driving south from Washington. Good location just off I95 but far enough away to avoid traffic noise. Target is across the road. Famous Dave's BBQ & Red Robin burgers within a minutes walk.
Room (4th floor) was clean, quiet & well equipped. Large selection of cable channels. Big comfy king sized bed with lots of pillows. Wifi connected with no problems.
Didn't use the hotel restaurant so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen

Address: 10077 Brook Road, Glen Allen, VA 23059
Location: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Glen Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Richmond North provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Glen Allen hotel's lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news via our GoBoard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen Hotel Glen Allen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Richmond North/Glen Allen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.