We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good wines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James River Cellars Winery

James River Cellars Winery
11008 Washington Highway, Glen Allen, VA 23059
+1 804-550-7516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Glen Allen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family-owned and operated farm winery, located just north of Richmond VA. A refreshing change from the ordinary! Our staff serves a tasting of wines from whites to delicious reds and dessert wines in a tranquil country setting. Enjoy a picnic on our beautifully landscaped patio or capture the view from the terrace. James Batterson, winemaker, creates all wines from Virginia grown grapes.
Marietta, SC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We go to Ashland, VA often to visit our son and his family and finally decided to visit the winery. We found some very good wines. It is in a beautiful setting of gardens and old large trees. We will definitely be going back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“April Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Attended the April fools wine festival 4/5/14 @ James River Winery, had a great outing enjoying the wine tastings, vendors and enterainment. mark your calendar for upcoming outdoor events @ this Winery.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice little winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stopped by while we were in Glenn Allen. The staff of this tiny winery are very friendly. I enjoyed the wine tasting and decided to take home a bottle of Chambourcin. The only complaint that I have is that the wine glasses do not come as souvenirs with the wine tasting. I'm not sure if they're available for purchase, I didn't ask. Overall I had a great time and can't wait to visit the winery in the spring and summer months.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I went to the vineyard with a couple of gal pals, and we were pleasantly surprised a festival was going on. Well organized, good food truck food and the facility was beautiful. The wines were great as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericksburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great little winery. The staff is wonderful and wines are very good. I have never been treated better. After tasting be sure to stay around and enjoy a glass of wine in one of the outside or inside patio areas. The place is a very pleasant place to seat side as a couple and to enjoy a glass of wine.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James River Cellars Winery also viewed

 

Been to James River Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James River Cellars Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.