We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little winery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James River Cellars Winery

James River Cellars Winery
11008 Washington Highway, Glen Allen, VA 23059
+1 804-550-7516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Glen Allen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family-owned and operated farm winery, located just north of Richmond VA. A refreshing change from the ordinary! Our staff serves a tasting of wines from whites to delicious reds and dessert wines in a tranquil country setting. Enjoy a picnic on our beautifully landscaped patio or capture the view from the terrace. James Batterson, winemaker, creates all wines from Virginia grown grapes.
west of Washington, DC
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice little winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at our recent stop at James River Cellars. The wine was not only delightful, but described so well by the attentive staff! We felt as though the tasting time was personally done for us, even though the room was full. We'll be back on our next trip in this area - see you then!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Interesting Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Had not a clue how they made wine until I visited here. Explain things well saw the entire process.

After seeing the process you could taste the finished product and purchase bottles

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Girlfriend and I toured this winery and loved it. The grounds are beautiful and the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The wines at this winery are delicious and the tasting was great. They have a dessert wine that you need to try with chocolate and try it chilled and warmed. Great choice for a girl's day trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Independence Day at the Winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

You wouldn't expect a great little winery at this location. We had sampled them at wine festivals around the state but never realized they were so close to us and in a light industrial area up the road from the Harley-Davidson dealer.

We came for the advertised wine and cheese tasting and were very pleasantly surprised. The wines ran the full range from dry to sweet and good to not-so-good. I don't think this winery grows their own grapes although there are a few token grapevines in sight. Most successful wineries these days can't grow enough anyway and most buy from growers.

The staff was welcoming and knowledgeable, explaining the reasoning for the cheese pairings and the composition of each wine. We enjoyed it so much that we bought a bottle of our favorite and shared a couple of glasses at a table on the shady lawn on the premises. Very relaxing and a great kick-off to our Independence Day celebration.

They have frequent special Sunday events with live music under their tent and we will definitely be back to enjoy them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasting experience was the worst!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The host was a real jerk! Might have been better with a more professional and congenial host on Saturday, May 26th. Wish I'd gotten the guy's name....he didn't introduce himself to us as we stepped up to the tasting counter....the guy had the gall to ask US to move down when another couple came in AFTER we had started tasting....they could have easily walked past us and placed themselves at the open space at the counter!! Then he moved our bowl of pretzels to THEM and offered us no replacement! Then we noticed that our pours were 1/2 the size of the two groups to the right of us....the guy had the nerve to respond to my wife, who said she could barely get a taste of what the wine was like, with "there are at least 2-4 sips there, you need to pace yourself" . Shame on us for not just walking out RIGHT then. We felt insulted and ripped off at this place. We were treated like "chopped liver." Hope you improve your customer skills, dude! We just might have been the best customers of your weekend! Winery management, train and check on your staff once in a while! You'll increase your sales.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James River Cellars Winery also viewed

 

Been to James River Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James River Cellars Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.