We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James River Cellars Winery

James River Cellars Winery
11008 Washington Highway, Glen Allen, VA 23059
+1 804-550-7516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Attractions in Glen Allen
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family-owned and operated farm winery, located just north of Richmond VA. A refreshing change from the ordinary! Our staff serves a tasting of wines from whites to delicious reds and dessert wines in a tranquil country setting. Enjoy a picnic on our beautifully landscaped patio or capture the view from the terrace. James Batterson, winemaker, creates all wines from Virginia grown grapes.
Hanover, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a great time at this winery! The people are very nice and the best was their beautiful winery cat ,Charlie, he is so friendly!! What a wonderful place!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, Good Wine, Nice Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

It's actually rather small inside where the tasting room is. We went on a Saturday (7/23/11) and I think they were having an engagement party outside. It just got crowded, that was my biggest issue. But the wines were rather good! I'm still getting into wine and am more of a white wine person, but I thought they were tasty.

It's $5 for a tasting and the staff is very friendly and helpful. In the summer they have a slushie type drink from the wine and on my gosh it was amazing. I wanted to just get a huge glass of that!

It's definitely worth a stop if you're passing through.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lots of wine to taste--average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

The good news is you we tasted 12 wines for $3.50. There is a reason why they are cheap because the wines are average. 3 of us tasted and there were only about 1 or 2 wines that we would even consider to be worth buying. We all agreed to just move on to other wineries because they wines just didn't do anything for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Nice place, but wine leaves something to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Live in the Richmond area and have traveled to several wineries in Virginia over the years. Finally made it to James River Cellars last weekend. Was part of a group of five 40- and 50-somethings, all of us wine fans. Unfortunately we were all disappointed with the taste of most wines at James River. A few were especially bad. The Gewürztraminer and Cabernet Franc were the only two we enjoyed. They weren't "great"... just pretty good.

The staff at James River is quite cordial and the historic surroundings are a nice touch, however if you have time to travel elsewhere, other Virginia wineries offer better tasting wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Winery in the Richmond Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

My husband and I lived in Virginia for three years and spent much of our time visiting the many wineries in the state. By the time we moved we had tasted wines at over 20 different wineries. With this said, James River is by far the best in class. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and the wine is absolutely fabulous. James River Cellar's dessert wine won the 2005 Governer's Cup in Virginia which goes to the best wine produced in the given year. The Cabernet Franc, Chardonnel and Chambourcin are also highly recommended. There is a small tasting fee, but it is well worth it and you get to keep your tasting glass. After your tasting you can receive a tour of the wine making facilities or relax on the quaint patio with a glass of your favorite white or red. If you are lucky enough to stop by on a Friday in the summertime, definitely make time to attend Friday's on the Patio. Wine, sun and great appetizers - what more could you want?!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James River Cellars Winery also viewed

 

Been to James River Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James River Cellars Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.