We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's better than perfect?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Doctor's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Doctor's Inn
Save Saved
You added The Doctor's Inn to your Saves list
406 W Stuart Dr., Galax, VA 24333   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall time Special Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What's better than perfect?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our stay at the Doctors' Inn turned out to be an unexpected highlight of our 2 week road trip round Virginia and North Carolina. It was perfect in every way. Every detail had been carefully considered right down to the luggage ramp from the parking area to the side of the inn. Every need had been catered for. The rooms and bathrooms were individually decorated in sumptuous materials and items that had been clearly personal to the doctors from whom it takes its name. The breakfasts were excellent and served in a beautiful dining room with a splendid chandelier hanging over the table. Margo the manager provided a perfect service from excellent cooking skills to a full round up of where we could find local music. We'd chosen to stay in the city of Galax by chance as representative of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We loved it here and were disappointed at having to leave after 3 days. Do visit Barr's Fiddle Shop for a remarkable history of bluegrass music, the excellent book shop, the expanding arts centre and the stunning New River Trail.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
50
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loved everything about this B&B that is in a small town that was just a necessary stop on the way for our trip to northern Maine from GA! The porch was a great place to relax and read, but the breakfast was also a favorite and we were able to meet other interesting couples that morning. The first floor room really appealed to us and it was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We loved the first floor Stamey Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a wonderful experience in such a small town. Everything was perfect! We could not have ask for anything more except for a few more days at this exceptional inn.
From the time Margo met us at the front door upon arriving before our scheduled time, to pointing us in the right direction for dinner and hugging us goodbye upon departure, we felt as if we were in our own home with family. She made us feel so welcome.
Sitting on the front porch having coffee while the aroma of a fantastic breakfast trickled out the door, it was a perfect send off. Thank you Doctors's Inn. You should be proud.
Tucker & Sharon Aguirre, Fernandina Beach, FL

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Dr's Inn Bed and breakfast is not only beautiful, but it has a very interesting history, as well. Margot, the manager, welcomed us with all the southern hospitality you could ask for. The front veranda makes a great place to sit, and even has a porch swing. The rooms are beautiful, furnished with unique and lovely items from the Dr's travels. The bed and linens were wonderful. And breakfast was just plain delicious. Coffee and other treats were available all day. The hardest part was to tear ourselves away when it was time to leave.

Room Tip: Both the Bolen and the Stamey rooms are nicely located kind of off in their own corner, one above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were lucky to get a reservation during the Fiddler's Convention and were really impressed with Doctors bed and breakfast. Rooms were large, charming and well appointed. The food was delicious and Margo (the innkeeper) was delightful and everything a great innkeeper should be.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff is wonderful & the Bed & Breakfast is delightful! Wonderfully decorated & has
historical factors.
Love the front porch & the Gazebo!
Within 6 miles of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Very close to the small town of Galax, which
has quant shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms are all equally special, they each have special décor & viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Doctor's Inn, and highly recommend it. It was very attractive and comfortable, with many thoughtful touches. In season, the front porch is beautiful and relaxing, and the breakfasts were great, with perfect portion sizes. The innkeeper Margo is extremely helpful without being intrusive. The inn is located a short walk to downtown Galax (and the wonderful Rex Theater) and a short bike ride to the start of the New River Rail Trail. Margo also told us about the concerts at the nearby Blue Ridge Music Center, and it was a real treat to hear music there. Staying at the Doctor's Inn made our visit to Galax just what we hoped it would be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's Inn

Address: 406 W Stuart Dr., Galax, VA 24333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Doctor's Inn is the first Bed & Breakfast in downtown Galax, Virginia. Walk to downtown shopping and eateries. The New River Bike trail is only a half mile away as well as Felts Park, home of the Old Time Fiddler's Convention (less than a mile). One visit at the Inn and you appreciate the "Elegant Simplicity Prescribed by the Doctor." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Doctor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.