We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing & Cozy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Doctor's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Doctor's Inn
Save
You added The Doctor's Inn to your Saves list
406 W Stuart Dr., Galax, VA 24333   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Relaxing & Cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff is wonderful & the Bed & Breakfast is delightful! Wonderfully decorated & has
historical factors.
Love the front porch & the Gazebo!
Within 6 miles of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Very close to the small town of Galax, which
has quant shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms are all equally special, they each have special décor & viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
54
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Doctor's Inn, and highly recommend it. It was very attractive and comfortable, with many thoughtful touches. In season, the front porch is beautiful and relaxing, and the breakfasts were great, with perfect portion sizes. The innkeeper Margo is extremely helpful without being intrusive. The inn is located a short walk to downtown Galax (and the wonderful Rex Theater) and a short bike ride to the start of the New River Rail Trail. Margo also told us about the concerts at the nearby Blue Ridge Music Center, and it was a real treat to hear music there. Staying at the Doctor's Inn made our visit to Galax just what we hoped it would be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at The Doctor's Inn in the Stamey Room for four nights in search of mountain music - the inn was very well kept inside and out - we were well pleased with our room selection, save maybe having another chair in addition to the one that was in the room - thick bathrobes were at the ready in our large closet so we could discretely access our hall bathroom - innkeeper Margo took very good care of us during our four day stay, each morning greeting us with freshly prepared gourmet goodies like quiches, scones, and fruit smoothies that she served in the inn's elegant dining room - a couple of special touches Margo extended us during our stay were a free bottle of Doc's (Barbecue) Sauce upon our check-in and later in our stay, a gift card to Scoots, a restaurant in Galax that Margo became aware of that we had ate at and liked - in between sitting on the inn's expansive well appointed porch, listening to the birds and breathing in the fresh mountain air, we enjoyed music at the Stringbean Cafe in Galax, at the Blue Ridge Music Center right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, at the courthouse in Independence, and at the Rex Theater in Galax - to be cured of what ails you, check into The Doctor's Inn and find out where the music is playing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything about our stay at the Doctor's Inn was perfect.
The Inn perches on a hill with a great view of the small town and the mountans; the front porch and balcony have plenty of chairs and rockers for visiting and relaxing. Margo, the innkeeper brims with southern hospitality and local dining and shopping information. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were beautifully appointed. We have already booked out next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an older home that had been used as a doctor's office. The facility is incredibly clean and neat. Our bedroom was very nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and ample storage for clothes. The next door bathroom had a claw foot tub and a wraparound shower curtain. Additionally, the bathroom had thoughtful touches for forgetful travelers.

Though it was raining when we were there and we didn't take advantage of it the inn has a beautiful and very large front porch with a nice view of the surrounding mountains.

Our breakfast was excellent with a one of the best quiches that we have ever had.

Room Tip: None of the 6 available rooms is a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorsInnVA, Innkeeper at The Doctor's Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both and your stay with us at the Inn. We hope your travels will bring you back to Galax when it's warm so that you can enjoy our wonderful front porch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Doctors Inn when we were on our East Coast road trip driving through the Blue Ridge Parkway. First of all the inn is so well kept, beautifully furnished and decorated with eclectic antiques from Europe and Asia. Secondly, the innkeeper, Margo welcomes and treats her guests with the utmost southern hospitality. I was blown away by the well thought-out toiletry kit placed in our bathroom including toothbrush, paste, mouth wash, make-up removal tissue in addition to a first aid kit which I had to use. The breakfast table was set with beautiful china and an "ironed" cotton napkin to accompany the delicious hot breakfast. .Our room was spacious with a large closet and comfortable chair to relax or to read a book or many interesting magazines supplied in the room. It was cold when we were here but I can only imagine how lovely it'd be to sit in one of the comfortable chairs in the front porch and watch the world go by. Feel like to be pampered by a first class inn without breaking your bank, take a drive to Galax and stay at Dorctos Inn.

Room Tip: Love our room, the Stamey room with a spacious closet and a private bathroom. even though it's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecoma, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came through Galax on our roadtrip Honeymoon through the USA. Margo was so welcoming, and gave us some helpful advice about the area. We were the only people there for the night, so it felt like our very own house. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the view was lovely from our window. Breakfast was filling and delicious. I loved that there was a piano to practise on, and a gong to call us down to breakfast in the morning! Margo had also written a personalised message welcoming us both. We booked this accomodation spontaneously, and I'm glad we did. Overall, I recommend this place, especially for couples.
We actually travelled January 2011, but we remember this B&B very fondly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's Inn

Address: 406 W Stuart Dr., Galax, VA 24333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Doctor's Inn is the first Bed & Breakfast in downtown Galax, Virginia. Walk to downtown shopping and eateries. The New River Bike trail is only a half mile away as well as Felts Park, home of the Old Time Fiddler's Convention (less than a mile). One visit at the Inn and you appreciate the "Elegant Simplicity Prescribed by the Doctor." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Doctor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.