We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Doctor's inn is perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Doctor's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Doctor's Inn
406 W Stuart Dr., Galax, VA 24333   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring time package deal.
Ranked #1 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Doctor's inn is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything about our stay at the Doctor's Inn was perfect.
The Inn perches on a hill with a great view of the small town and the mountans; the front porch and balcony have plenty of chairs and rockers for visiting and relaxing. Margo, the innkeeper brims with southern hospitality and local dining and shopping information. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were beautifully appointed. We have already booked out next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
43
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an older home that had been used as a doctor's office. The facility is incredibly clean and neat. Our bedroom was very nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and ample storage for clothes. The next door bathroom had a claw foot tub and a wraparound shower curtain. Additionally, the bathroom had thoughtful touches for forgetful travelers.

Though it was raining when we were there and we didn't take advantage of it the inn has a beautiful and very large front porch with a nice view of the surrounding mountains.

Our breakfast was excellent with a one of the best quiches that we have ever had.

Room Tip: None of the 6 available rooms is a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorsInnVA, Innkeeper at The Doctor's Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both and your stay with us at the Inn. We hope your travels will bring you back to Galax when it's warm so that you can enjoy our wonderful front porch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Doctors Inn when we were on our East Coast road trip driving through the Blue Ridge Parkway. First of all the inn is so well kept, beautifully furnished and decorated with eclectic antiques from Europe and Asia. Secondly, the innkeeper, Margo welcomes and treats her guests with the utmost southern hospitality. I was blown away by the well thought-out toiletry kit placed in our bathroom including toothbrush, paste, mouth wash, make-up removal tissue in addition to a first aid kit which I had to use. The breakfast table was set with beautiful china and an "ironed" cotton napkin to accompany the delicious hot breakfast. .Our room was spacious with a large closet and comfortable chair to relax or to read a book or many interesting magazines supplied in the room. It was cold when we were here but I can only imagine how lovely it'd be to sit in one of the comfortable chairs in the front porch and watch the world go by. Feel like to be pampered by a first class inn without breaking your bank, take a drive to Galax and stay at Dorctos Inn.

Room Tip: Love our room, the Stamey room with a spacious closet and a private bathroom. even though it's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecoma, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came through Galax on our roadtrip Honeymoon through the USA. Margo was so welcoming, and gave us some helpful advice about the area. We were the only people there for the night, so it felt like our very own house. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the view was lovely from our window. Breakfast was filling and delicious. I loved that there was a piano to practise on, and a gong to call us down to breakfast in the morning! Margo had also written a personalised message welcoming us both. We booked this accomodation spontaneously, and I'm glad we did. Overall, I recommend this place, especially for couples.
We actually travelled January 2011, but we remember this B&B very fondly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Margo was wonderfully accommodating of our "day of" reservation and when we arrived 30 minutes later, our room was ready and waiting! The house is absolutely beautiful and held surprises in every room. Cookies, snacks, coffee and tea were a hit with my fiance who had never experienced a B & B. The decor in the "Bolen Room" was comfortable while tastefully decorated. Breakfast was a hit, as was warm conversations with Margo and Renda. We are already making plans to return with my parents in tow, hopefully in the near future!!!! Thank you for a stellar experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Margo was wonderful. She made me feel welcome right from the start. The warmth and charm of her wonderful place and delicious breakfast will stay in my heart for a long time. Coming from South Florida as an Interior Designer to work on "Cliffside Manor" with the new owners was truly a memorable experience.
The accomodations were clean, beautifully decorated and a welcome feeling throughout.
I look forward to coming back and having Margo's French toast.
Thank you for a great visit.
Marilyn Weiss

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL FLORIDA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband stayed for one night between Christmas and New Year's and were lucky to have the entire B & B to ourselves. The history of the home and the holiday decor were exceptional and thoughtful. The amenities were well thought out and charming. The management was exceedingly friendly, helpful and prepared an absolutely delicious breakfast. We will definitely recommend Doctor's Inn to our friends and hope to say here again in the future when traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Room Tip: Downstairs master suite most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's Inn

Address: 406 W Stuart Dr., Galax, VA 24333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Doctor's Inn is the first Bed & Breakfast in downtown Galax, Virginia. Walk to downtown shopping and eateries. The New River Bike trail is only a half mile away as well as Felts Park, home of the Old Time Fiddler's Convention (less than a mile). One visit at the Inn and you appreciate the "Elegant Simplicity Prescribed by the Doctor." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Doctor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Doctor's Inn to your Saves list