We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rex Theater
113 E Grayson st, Galax, VA 24333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Galax
Attraction details
Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“We love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I can't imagine Galax without the Rex, it is always a good night out and I hope it will live for ever. We come back periodically from the UK , just wish they could have more shows than on a Friday night.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“not The Beverly Hillbillies or American Idol and that's a good thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Two friends and I went to a banjo shootout at the Rex. Although the actual event had more guitar than banjo, it was all very entertaining. Everyone there seemed to know each other and enjoyed each other's company as much as the performing. If you go for the whole experience of real music being played by nonprofessionals in a small town, you'll like it. If you're looking for slick packaged plastic Americana, go to Pigeon Forge, Tennessee.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Nice Slice of Americana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

For $5, we got to see live blue grass music as it was being broadcast on radio. Folks jumped up as the music moved 'em to clog or two-step to the catchy tunes. The Rex Theater was obviously at one time a cinema, but now it's bringing live music to the folks of Galax, VA. The folks are friendly, and they have some concessions available, along with some Rex Theater gear. There aren't a lot of opportunities like this left anywhere in America, so go check it out.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a BLAST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I visited the Rex Theater last Friday night. What a fun time!! You could tell this where all the locals come to enjoy some great music. We only paid $5.00 to get in and $3.00 for two sodas and popcorn. This venue offers wonderful local Blue Grass music that is actually broadcast as a radio program. Everyone was very casual and there's plenty of dancing room in front of the stage. The Rex has been refurbished by a group of sponsors and is operated by a very dedicated group of volunteers. It was wonderful!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Go back in Time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is an OLD theater that was purchased by the local merchants of Galax, remodeled and reopened. Every Friday they feature a group of performers, (mostly bluegrass), and only charge $5 to get in. The theater is beautiful, comfortable and filled with folks you will think you've known all your life. The theater is run by an all volunteer staff and the performances (8:00-10:00pm) are aired live on a local FM station. The performances are AWESOME, PLUS, there is an area in front of the stage for anyone that wants to "flatfoot" during the songs. I always leave there felling like I just stepped out of a time machine and loved every minute of it.. Speaking of time machine, the popcorn,candy and soda are ALL $1 each!! A MUST SEE!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rex Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.