We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Home "Q"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galax Smokehouse

Galax Smokehouse
101 North Main Street, Galax, VA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Galax
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Down Home "Q"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Open until 9 PM except on Sundays when it closes at 3 PM. Good BBQ meat (I've generally had the pulled pork). The sauces are good. Attentive service, fair atmosphere, but the sides are a bit hit or miss. I had the corn on the cob which was watery and lacked flavor. The slaw was quite good.

Will I go again- most certainly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    57
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was not impressed with the flavor of the food. The service was excellent. Out of the 5 of us only 1 person in our party liked the food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We know BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is not the Quilted Giraffe.....it is a BBQ eatery and is about as good as it gets.

Friendly service and huge portions.

A must

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The sauce makes the dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate here on recommendation from a local. I can't say that I cared much for the atmosphere and decor of the restaurant. It is like a diner, generally. The service was good, however. Our waitress was attentive and the owner stopped by to ask how our food was. I had the rib tips with smoked mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Hubby had the smoked burger with barbecue beans and fried okra. I thought the best part of the meal was the sauce for the barbecue. I like a rich tangy sauce and I thought their's was excellent. They actually have four sauces which are all available on the table but I liked the one they cooked the tips in and then I added a bit of the molasses based sauce. The rib tips, however, I thought were a dry, even soaked in the sauce. So I am guessing the smoked the tips and reheated them with the sauce when ordered. I also enjoyed the unique smoked mashed potatoes. The corn on the cob was disappointing and the slice of bread was like a slice of white Wonder bread. I did try hubby's burger and the barbecue beans and they were both good. Overall it was good barbecue but I wouldn't rave about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Charming Casual Spot for BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Family friendly restaurant with yummy BBQ. Lots of local memorabilia on the walls. Helps make Galax worth visiting. Consider buying a bottle of sauce to take home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galax Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Galax Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galax Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.