We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New River Trail Cabins

New River Trail Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New River Trail Cabins
307 Stockyard Road, PO Box 606, Galax, VA 24333   |  
Hotel amenities
durham, nc
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Pros: Scenic creek-side setting, well equipped, close to New River Trail, well designed.

Cons: Poor interior lighting, no refund for cancellations, can be difficult to contact manager.

Hint: No need to bring any cooking equipment.

This was our second try at New River Cabins as our first trip was cancelled for medical reasons--no refund, but the room charge could be used at a future date.

Absolutely no disappointments here!! We were delighted. We tried to contact the manager on the way to the cabins to see if we could check in early. We never received a reply but our cabin was ready and we just walked into this beautifully appointed love nest.

The cabins are all wood. The covered front porch leads to a large room with fire place, bath room, cooking/dining area, closet, and rear covered deck with gas grill. Amenities include: microwave, refrigerator, kitchenette, sleeper couch, queen bed, satellite tv, dvd/vcr player, wi-fi, and indoor whirlpool tub. Although there is no cooktop, our cabin had a portable electric hot plate that enabled us to prepare eggs for breakfast. The cabin was fully equipped for cooking and eating. Perfect!

The only criticism we had, and this is why the cabins lost our fifth star, is that the interior lighting is just insuffictient and contacting the manager can be difficult. For example, the lighting over the sink was inadequate for washing dishes at night. There was no lighting by the side of the bed to enable reading. There was a table light by the side of the sleeper couch, but this meant that only one person could read at night. As explained earlier, we were unable to get in touch with the manager while driving.

The cabins are located maybe two hundred feet from the New River Trail access. This is a beautiful walking/bicycling trail well worth your visit. While there we observed a blue herron, a hawk, crows, a woodchuck and deer. The cabins are not within reasonable walking distance from downtown Galax (maybe a mile or so) but it is a short drive to the Rex theater where you can hear blue grass on Friday nights. Althugh we did not eat there, the Galax smokehouse on Main street smelled great.

We will return to the New River Cabins.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Really enjoyed the place!
WITH EXCEPTION: My 86 yr old mother ask me to accompany her on a trip to Galax, knowing I would enjoy the hiking along New River Trail. As we were preparing to leave, my mom brought to my attention a laminated printout for quest in the cabins upon checkout.
It STATED(notice on the website, it ASKED that the following be done or a $50 fee would be added to your charge card!!!
- all linens must be removed form the beds
- all trash removed and taken to the garbage cans next to the office
- all dishes, glasses and silverware must be washed and put away. (How sure were we to eat off plates and sliverware which was left in this manner?) Health standards?
- the thermostat must be set to 75
Please note this cabin cost my mom $150 per night. With no additional services during the stay. And again, the website ASK that the above be done, in a much abbreviated text; and the printout in the cabin was in form of a demand that must be met or a $50 additional fee would be applied.
Honestly, I have stayed in hotels and lodges all over the US and Canada, and have never seen anything like this place on a guest...much less for the fee of $150 per night.
I would not do business with this merchant again, nor would I recommend this facility to anyone, based on the expections to perform your own cleaning of the cabin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and love it! Cabins have fully equipped kitchen, tile bathroom, & grill on deck overlooking beautiful creek. Perfect spot to relax after biking 51 miles of New River Trail!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We just spent 3 nights at the NR Trail cabins and had a wonderful stay. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The cabin's back porch looked out over Chestnut Creek (my kids went wading & caught crawdads) and it's a stone's throw from the New River Trail where we spent hours hiking and biking. All the cabins were rented during our stay but it was incredibly peaceful and quiet. As we drove in one night, two deer were standing near one of the cabins. It's within walking distance of downtown Galax which has a great breakfast, lunch, & dinner spot (Chestnut Creek Coffee House) and lots of other quaint shops. We drove 5 hours from Fredericksburg for this trip and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New River Trail Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New River Trail Cabins

Address: 307 Stockyard Road, PO Box 606, Galax, VA 24333
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Galax
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxery Cabins nestled on Chestnut Creek in downtown Galax, VA. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New River Trail Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New River Trail Cabins to your Saves list