We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecellent Value for a brief stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   303 North Main Street, Galax, VA 24333 (Formerly Galax Super 8 Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Ecellent Value for a brief stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I found myself in Galax for a night because I was coaching a baseball team involved in a tournament on a recent weekend, and all I needed was a place to sleep. So I booked this place thru Choice Privileges. I was pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, it was apparent that this is an older hotel, with few amenities. No pool, basic accommodations, but what more would I expect for a weekend rate of about $45 with a AAA discount.

I found the front desk person to be very helpful. He had only two rooms left. With the baseball tournament and a live music event in town, every thing was kind of booked. There were rooms at the new Hampton, but they were $130, and I just needed a place to sleep. He showed me both rooms so I could pick the one I wanted.

One was on the front side of the hotel with parking in front of the room. It was a room with two double beds, the other was on the backside, which means you had to park on the front side and walk around, although you could drive around to unload stuff. Both were non-smoking which is essential for me. I took the back side King room, because it was quieter and had better wireless internet access.

The room was very clean. Although the furnishings were dated, it looked like the carpet had been replaced recently. If not, they do a really good job of cleaning. The room had a micro fridge and microwave, a small table, and chairs. Excellent internet access which was free, and the free continental breakfast was pretty good. Not bad for the price.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything Galax has to offer, and for a small town that is quite a bit. You are just across the street from a small park, where they had a farmers market. There are some pretty good restaurants within a block or two including Macado's (which is well know as a local chain specializing in excellent sandwiches, soups, entrees and good drink specials) and the Galax smokehouse BBQ restaurant. A small theater has very good live music on weekends, including the night I was there. And it is a neat town to just walk around.

The Hampton and the New Holiday Inn are certainly more modern, but for the price this place beats them hands down if you just need a very clean place to sleep and shower, with a fridge, microwave, free internet, free breakfast for about a third of the cost.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking around the hotel to your car, ask for a room on the back side. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brijesh Patel
General Manager
Rodeway Inn, Galax, Va
2762365127
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stopped one night in Galax at this motel to visit the Rex Theatre, it's the only accommodation in the centre of the town unfortunately.
Awful grubby reception area with equally grubby male receptionist.
Musty dingy room on second floor over looking car park, air con noisy, bathroom dirty.
Couldn't wait to get out of the place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very old hotel/motel by downtown Galax. Fair price for the location in a small city for a stop while driving north. You can see that the furniture and everything else is very old, but it was clean and somewhat maintained, however it needs some new painting and renovation. Very simple breakfast as well. Nothing out of extraordinary and fair for the price and location. Not sure if I would repeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
hank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Galax back in September, and stayed at the Rodeway Inn. It is a nice place to stay for the money. The room was clean. the people were nice, and location was great! We decide to go back to Galax after Christmas, but stayed at another hotel that is 4 blocks away. That was a HUGE mistake! We will be coming back to Galax soon, and will plan on staying at the Rodeway Inn again!

Room Tip: On a budget, stay here\, and NOT 4 blocks away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brijesh Patel
General Manager
Rodeway Inn, Galax, Va
2762365127
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an older place that could use some updating. It is number 2 in Galax because there is only a few hotels in town. The bathroom looked dirty and need a really good cleaning. Tub is stained. If you get put on the backside of the hotel you have to park in front and carry your bags around to your room. Service was good. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
hank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an older motel that needs some TLC in the maintenance area but the hotel staff was very accommodating and moved us to a room that had newer carpet and bedding. Because the price is very reasonable this is the place we stay every year during our visit to the Galax area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Brijesh Patel
General Manager
Rodeway Inn, Galax, Va
2762365127
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was very clean and it was a pleasure to stay here. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy. Price was much cheaper than off I-77 at Hillsville and was only a 10 mile drive away from interstate. Just need to be updated outside
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 303 North Main Street, Galax, VA 24333 (Formerly Galax Super 8 Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Galax
Galax Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.