We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean yet shapbby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   303 North Main Street, Galax, VA 24333 (Formerly Galax Super 8 Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“clean yet shapbby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This joint looks rundown (all rooms have outside doors) and is in need of fresh paint and attention to detail. The furniture upholstery is stained and the furnishings are worn.

THAT BEING SAID...at least it is clean, has newer carpet and does not smell of smoke.
I got the room for 40 bucks and it will be fine for a quick overnight stay. I recommend this place for those who can overlook its age and wear and focus on what this place is all about.....SLEEPING.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The kindest, sweetest people took good care of us. It was nice to have the comforts of "home" while on a business trip. We notice rooms are getting renovated. We show remodeling were going in other room too. We will definitely stay here again and are recommending it to all our friends! Thank you so much for a truly special stay:

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Me and My Mother enjoyed our saty.Very quite room,Very comfortable Bed.Thank for our stay
We will consider coming back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmont,nc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

it was nice stay compare to what i had to pay. hotel itself look ok but room was clean and it was good customer service. looks like they are trying to some renovation, so no complain. location was good too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My husband and brother had to go to Galax for some business so we used our Choice Rewards to book a room in this motel because it was free. The rooms looked OK online but my husband said the motel was awful overall. For him to say awful. it had to be really bad because he has traveled all over the US and has had to stay in some motels not so great. He said the rooms were as clean as possible considering the motel was about to fall down. He also said they were doing some remodeling or repairs. Sounds like very much needed repairs. Surprised Choice would have their name on this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Half the price of a newer and larger chain motel in the city, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Small bathroom, old-fashioned floorboard heater a bit noisy and hard to adjust but blasted heat keeping us toasty during cold nights. We had two adjoining rooms, nonsmoking, ground floor, at height of a Thanksgiving holiday, plenty of parking even with the Friday night bluegrass show nearby when it filled up a bit more. Relatively quiet until the city's fire alarm to call volunteers went off one night! Don't stay here if you are looking for a fancy continental breakfast -- basically coffee and saran-wrapped bagels/muffins, cereal, milk, etc. -- but just what we needed. Only real criticism above the good-value, "get what you pay for" basic lodging review is the electronic key cards on one room had to be reset at the office every night. Friendly staff, larger room fridge than I get in upscale hotels, microwave, writing this review on their free wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We were going to New Jersey and stayed in this hotel for a night. The room was very clean with hair dryer and free coffee at the reception. For one night the hotel is very good and the rate is also very less.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 303 North Main Street, Galax, VA 24333 (Formerly Galax Super 8 Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Galax
Galax Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.