We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stonewall Golf Club
15601 Turtle Point Drive, Gainesville, VA 20155
703-753-5101
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Challenging course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stonewall is one of the more expensive courses in the area so we do not play there often but it is probably the most challenging that I have played in the Gainesville area. The course is difficult with bunkers, water hazards and other impediments. If you do not mind the cost (compared to Virginia Oaks, Prince William GC, Bristow Manor) give this one a try.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Course You'll Not Regret Playing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This course feels almost as nice as the RTJ course across the Lake. It's very challenging, but not too so. I'm a golf nut and have played tons of courses in VA and this certainly is in the top-5. The staff makes it a point to be exceptionally friendly and respectful and when you pay country club prices, this is appreciated!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Erika Larkin is a wonderful patient instructor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've played a bit of the course through lessons, but this review is about the quality of lessons (2 years running) with Erika Larkin. She sent videos of my swing, was very patient (last year I was nursing a replaced ankle all summer) and keeps the instruction simple and effective. Lessons were truly helpful and not stressful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the best courses I have ever played”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Perfect greens and very fast. Beautiful layout and design with scenic lake views.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good novice course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Visited with my husband who golfs there very often. I'm a novice, but I really enjoyed the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Golf Club also viewed

Gainesville, Prince William County
Gainesville, Prince William County
 
Gainesville, Prince William County

Been to Stonewall Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.