We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Killahevlin: great place, great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killahevlin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killahevlin
Save
You added Killahevlin to your Saves list
1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Manasquan, New Jersey
1 review
“The Killahevlin: great place, great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We love this quaint, beautiful, romantic Virginia estate house as a great place to stay for a 1-night stopover, or a few days' stay. The building and rooms are comfortable and ornate, and the house clubroom features complimentary Harp beer on-tap - a refreshing respite after a long drive. We've stayed at the Killahevlin twice over the last few years, once to tour wineries in the area, and again this year as a stopover point when on a vacation road trip. Tom and Kathy's hospitality is consistently excellent, the Virginia sunsets memorable, and the housecats adorable. Walking the grounds - nearly an arboretum - is an education in itself. (Try to get the personal tour from Tom.) We'll be back again. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The hospitality at this beautiful B&B
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
169
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

The hosts were very nice and the breakfast was one of the best we've ever had at a B & B. The mattress in our suite was the worst I had ever slept on which put a serious crimp in our ability to stay awake during the vineyard tours. The area was nice, although not very ethically diverse. The delightful bullfrog at the B & B was nice enough to sing to us all night long and there were deer and other wildlife to observe off of our porch. The guests above us also kept us awake because the floors were fairly thin.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killahevlin, Owner at Killahevlin, responded to this review, July 7, 2007
The hardest thing for an innkeeper to do is to provide bedding that everyone likes. Matresses are especially difficult. Some people like soft ones, others like firm ones. We provide the highest quality bedding and could have firmed up the mattress if they had said something to us. This is the first complaint we have had on this, or any other bed in the two years we have owned Killahevlin.

The house is an historic building and we are limited in what we can do to minimize the sound transmitted from the upper suite. We will look into adding thicker carpeting upstairs and if we get any more specific feedback on the bedding, we'll take action to fix that as well.

We encourage our guests to provide feedback on TripAdvisor because we believe TripAdvisor provides an important tool for potential guests to select lodgings.

The comfort of our guests is of paramound importance to us and we hope this guest will give us a second chance ... perhaps in a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2006

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Killahevlin and it was an amazing experience. It was our first time at a bed and breakfast and I had such a great experience, that I don't want to stay at a regular hotel ever again! Where do I begin? Killahevlin is on top of a hill overlooking the town of Front Royal. The views of the mountains are spectacular, especially during the sunrise and sunset. When we first went inside, we received a warm greeting by the owners, Tom and Kathy. They gave us a tour of the place and then showed us to our room. We stayed at the Green room, which has a whirlpool tub and electric fireplace for only $155 a night! This is the BEST value for a room with a whirlpool and fireplace out of all the B&B's in the area. We easily fit in the whirlpool (both of us are under 6 feet) and the jets were pretty strong. The electric fireplace looks like a real fire and can give off heat with the flip of a switch. It was a nice touch and gives a romantic ambiance in the room. There is a great view from the window of the sunrise and I highly recommend waking up to see it! After we got situated, we went down to the dining room and grabbed some of Tom's lemon and blueberry scones. They were out of this world! They also have a big selection of tea. We took our scones and tea outside to the gazebo and while we were eating, we were greeted by 3 deer, who were also eating by the pond. After our snack, I asked Tom about local restaurants and he recommended this great place called Hotel Strasburg! He even called them and made reservations for us. What service! After we got back from dinner, we went to the pub downstairs. The pub is open 24/7 and is stocked with a nice selection of wine and beer and its all you can drink!!! It also has a piano, tv, and games for entertainment. We had fun playing games and drinking wine. The rest of the house looks elegant with its antique furniture and decorations. In the morning, we ate a hearty breakfast of pineapple scones, lemon/blueberry pancakes, eggs, and sausage patties. If you eat around 9:30am, you don't have to eat lunch! It's that filling! They also had freshly ground coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice! While we were eating, Tom came by a few times to see how we were doing and make small talk. We left after breakfast. It was a short stay, but we enjoyed every second of it. Tom and Kathy were wonderful and accomodating hosts. The house is awesome and the rooms are such a value! I highly recommend this place and I'm looking forward to coming back (with more people so we can party in the pub!).

  • Liked — The views, the jacuzzi and fireplace in room, the hosts, the pub, the food
  • Disliked — The pond
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

This is what we wrote by e-mail to Innkeepers, Tom & Kathy Conkey:

"There are not enough superlatives in the language to describe our wonderful weekend at Killahevlin. The gourmet breakfasts, your gracious and warm hospitality, the relaxing and charming environment, those special touches of cookies, chocolates, & champagne along with the delightful company of Murphy, KC, Tigger, and Henrie--every detail contributed to a memorable anniversary celebration for us.

"Thank you for everything. We hope to return very soon and bring our friends along to share the unique Killahevlin experience!"
____

Tom & Kathy also recommended the nearby Rappahannock Cellars as a good bet for a vineyard visit and made a free tasting card available. Our visit to Rappahannock was the hit of our weekend: wonderful wine, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and a lovely setting.

  • Liked — The hospitality, relaxed feeling, overall ambience, interesting rooms & decor, gourmet breakfasts
  • Disliked — We only wish there were no TVs in the rooms, but most guests expect a TV even in old historic mansions
  • Tips/Secrets — Speak with innkeepers about best bets for wineries and restaurants in the area.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

Excellent B&B! Our "Green" room was warm and toasty even though it was a cold weekend. The hearty breakfasts allowed us to skip lunch as we toured the local vineyards and civil war sites. We met wonderful guests in the self-serve free bar.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

We checked in Friday evening and the owners, Cathy and Tom, immediately made us feel welcome. We were given a tour of the home and then brought into the pub where the other guests sat enjoying very tasty beverages! After introductions we went into our room, the Green Room, and were pleasantly surprised!! Although the smallest room in the house, it was actually quite spacious with a queen bed, secretary desk, rocking chair, fire place, bedside tables and ample closet space. The bathroom has the original pedestal sink and a huge whirlpool tub. The Green Room has four windows that look out onto the Blue Ridge mountains. The furniture is all antique - some original - and we immediately felt at home.

We spent Friday evening in the pub. Tom and Cathy have a nice Irish Pub in the lower level of the home that is opened to the guests only. Harp is on tap, Guiness and Bass sit in the fridge, wine sits on the bar and a few other beverages can be found in the fridges. It truly is the "epicenter" of the house, bringing all of the guests together to socialize, an aspect we really enjoyed. There are games in the pub and a TV to catch any game that might be on, but mainly we would all sit and just chat, which made the evenings enjoyable.

Breakfast is served between 8:30 - 10:30. On Saturday it consisted of french toast made with a croissant dipped in batter and topped with fruit. Homemade scones and coffee abound! Sunday's breakfast was eggs benedict made with a butter belgian waffle instead of english muffins. The website is right when it said that you will not need lunch! The breakfast is MORE than filling!

Our activities consisted of visiting Shenandoah National Park, visiting local vineyards (Rappahanock is the best by far), seeing Lurray Caverns and just visiting the local towns. Although we were there in the middle of the winter there was still plenty to do and see and although a bit chilly, it was sunny and kept us outdoors. (Watching the sunrise behind the Killahevlin is amazing! What a view!)

Had it been summer we would have been able to partake in a game of croquet or toss a frisbee around, enjoying relaxing in one of the two gazebos or barbeque or have a picnic on the grounds. There is a huge screened in porch for lounging in a rocking chair and reading. The inside contains a great reading parlor where the 4 cats usually frequent (very friendly!) that is great for reading.

Although we only live in hour away we had the best vacation ever by staying at the Killahevlin. Tom & Cathy are very knowledgable about the surrounding area and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We will definitely be going back!

(Taking my mom there for her birthday weekend - lots of antique shopping in store and it does happen to fall on St. Patty's day! Also thinking of renting out the whole place (6 rooms total) for my birthday. What a great place for a party!)

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

We stayed at this B&B over a beautiful May weekend. It was an easy commute from DC, and we had the whole B&B rented out. There are now new innkeepers who just took over that week, Tom and his wife. They are wonderfully enthusiastic and thoughtful amenities include homemade mints at night, delicious cookies and Sherry by the fireplace, a wonderfully stocked open Irish bar which the men enjoyed thoroughly each night with their poker games, and lovely red carnations for the ladies at checkout. Breakfast on both mornings included delightful chocolate chip scones or blueberry scones with a scrumptious orange glaze, a full assortment of continental breakfast items, and the main breakfast was eggs benedict on one morning, apple fritter on croissant with sausage on Sunday (yum!). We hope the innkeepers don't burn themselves out. The whirlpool tubs in nearly every room where a delight. We had one couple more than rooms, so we shared a tower suite, the Plum cottage, with another couple. The bed and pullout in that cottage could both use an upgrade or a foam or feather topper, but I believe everyone else slept fairly well. FUN!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killahevlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killahevlin

Address: 1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killahevlin is a circa 1905 mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. We enjoy views of the mountains from all of our rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killahevlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.