We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killahevlin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killahevlin
1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to Killahevlin for the first time in 2011 for our "minimoon" and returned this past weekend for a night for our anniversary. We stayed in The White Room both times and it was just enchanting. The breakfast is TO DIE FOR and the tea is excellent. The tiny pub is fabulous and perfect for a quick pre-dinner drink or apertiff. The decor really makes you feel like you have been transported to the Old Country. Tom and Kathy are accomodating and kind and helpful. For dinner, try Jalisco's (Mexican) or Apt. 2G! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
137
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A perfect overnight stay on New Year's Eve, to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, accompanied by two other couples, our Dear friends! Clean, comfortable, hospitable above and beyond, welcoming, and the "icing on the cake" was an over the top, delicious and copious breakfast! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The place is a great B and B. We had the tower rooms. They aren't too cool with kids but we had our boys out of the way in the tower. Our boys enjoyed the small room at the top. Breakfast was a treat and nicely presented. It's a convenient location for visiting the Shenandoah valley and the Skyline.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We three, shall I just say mature, ladies enjoyed our stay in December 2012 immensely. We had gone to "look over" Killahelvlin in the fall and decided immedately that ti was the place to stay while being in Front Royal to visit our dear friend. When we told Tom, the innkeeper, that we would be a party of 3 he showed us the beautiful Raspberry Room and bath which accommodates a roll-way bed with plenty of room to spare and we put a booking on it immediately in our heads. Then he showed us the cozy bar downstairs and it was a wrap! Sherry in front of the fireplace on the beautiful settee in the room is a great way to settle in for the night. What a great breakfast room and breakfast too!

Room Tip: The Raspberry Room and bath are both very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to spend a special, long weekend to celebrate a major event in our lives. We wanted someplace nearby (She lives in Wilmington, DE) so we could take the motorcycle along. We decided on Front Royal due to it's proximity to us (about 3 hours), Shenandoah National Park, and of course Skyline Drive. The Innkeepers were very accomodating, and ready with directions to the park, the local wineries, and suggestions for dining at local restaurants (By the way, "Apartment 2g" is fantastic!) The food at the Inn was very good and plentiful, and the "on-site" pub was a nice plus, although we only used it one night. We stayed in the Jade Tree Suite in the Tower House, and it was wonderful (wish it had been cool enough to use the fireplace). This was a really great place to spend our special weekend away, and we plan to return next year - perhaps this time our schedules will permit us to make it in time for foliage season :) Thanks again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower House, which has suites. The other guests in the main house told us that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a beautiful old historic home in Front Royal, the northern end of Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive. We stayed one night, after flying into Balitmore and renting a car to drive down to North Carolina. Tom was very friendly and accomodating to our late arrival, and we helped ourselves to peanuts and Harp Lager on tap in his self-serve bar. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the enclosed front porch/balcony offers a gorgeous view of the mountains. Our stay was on the Monday before Thanksgiving, and we were the only guests there, but Tom was up at the crack of dawn making us coffee and a a delicious breakfast of eggs benedict. Altogether a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in the Raspberry room on Tuesday, November 13, 2012. We were the only guests in the home which was good and bad. Good in that we had the place all to ourselves. Bad in that we could see if others were present there would be an opportunity for communal use of the pub / piano for sing songs etc. Still, for our needs we appreciated the quiet and solitude. We found the home and property to be well maintained. One item not advertised - but available - is free wi-fi. Our room was very large measuring roughly 20 X 25 feet. The room had 4 luggage racks, was very clean and had nice fluffy towels. The bathroom sink tap water tasted 'off' at first - our guess from lack of use - as after a few minutes of running it - the water tasted fine. The bed was very comfortable. The room description talked of the refinished sink - however that refinishing is chipping off -badly and in our opinion was the only 'negative' of our stay - see photo. There was shampoo, conditioner and bubble bath supplied for the whirlpool tub. Adding a bottle of body/bath lotion would be a nice touch. We had ordered the optional chocolate dipped strawberries with a bottle of sparking wine. The strawberries were delicious. Our host provided us with a suggestion for dinner and accommodated our request to have a 'real' fire in the living room fireplace when we returned for the evening. We were able to snuggle on the living room couch with a blanket we brought from our room. The house cat chaperoned us as we watched the fire and had a glass of wine from the home pub. We had a great breakfast the following morning with coffee available for us to take up to our room upon waking.

The grounds have a former swimming pool - which in our opinion should be filled in as it just sort of sits there with muddy water in it and crumbling sides. It has a 4 foot wrought iron fence around it but that would not stop a determined kid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Killahevlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killahevlin

Address: 1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killahevlin is a circa 1905 mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. We enjoy views of the mountains from all of our rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killahevlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Killahevlin to your Saves list