We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall color getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killahevlin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killahevlin
Save
You added Killahevlin to your Saves list
1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Fall color getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was our second stay at Killahevlin, and it was again a wonderful experience. Tom was a great host. we stayed in the Green room, which is our favorite. There are so many interesting porches and lounges with comfortable chairs and lots of good reading material. The breakfast area is light and very inviting, and our breakfast was prepared to order. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Green Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
173
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast lodge. Speaking for both my wife and me, all we can say is wow! This place is awesome! Tom and Kathy were gracious hosts and their breakfast is out of this world. The house and our room in particular were spectacular, and the open bar irsh house pub was a real treat. We only stayed one night but our lunch and dinner at local restaurants in Front Royal were also a very enjoyable experience. We will definitely be back and hopefully stay for several nights next time.

Pete and Meg Rechter

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Killahevlin was such an enjoyable place to stay, warm & inviting. The house has wonderful history, great rooms, great breakfast, gracious hosts! Very close to Shenandoah National Park for hiking, the town of Front Royal was quaint. We will definitely come back again and bring friends!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Our group of 4 decided to do an excursion to Shenandoah. We overnighted at the Killahevlin and were very pleased by the grandeur of the building. The rooms were large, well appointed , and inviting. The open bar in the pub was a pleasant surprise, and a nice place for guests to mingle. Tom and Kathy were most gracious, and did everything they could to respond to our needs. Breakfast is included and was quite nice. We thought we got a lot of value for the money. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Tome makes the most amazing breakfasts! He does really great things with fruit! It was really a great place to stay. We enjoyed the irish house pub and loved hearing about the history of the house. This is a great place to stay when you want a gettaway from the city to go hiking in the Shenandoah National Park and to go wine-tasting. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Call Tom and ask to decide which room would be best for you. Book early since this place is very po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Killahevlin very much. The food was excellent while Tom and Kathy were gracious hosts who who very accommodating. We would recommend a stay here for a nice get-away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Always a pleasure to spend a weekend with Tom and Kathy. After 14 visits to Killahevlin I can hardly wait for my next visit. Just try it once and you'll be hooked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killahevlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killahevlin

Address: 1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killahevlin is a circa 1905 mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. We enjoy views of the mountains from all of our rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killahevlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.