We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Front Royal

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Front Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Front Royal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9800 Winchester Rd, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Front Royal
Boston Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night on way to the Blue Ridge parkway. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Kim provided restaurant locations and suggestions. Room was clean and fresh. Hot water plentiful. Breakfast was above my expectation for typical Hampton fare. Plenty of seating and hostess was very attentive. Would not hesitate to recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    127
    36
    5
    11
See reviews for
112
136
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although the front desk staff was very nice I don't that I would stay at this property again. The Hampton Inn on I-88 in Woodstock is much nicer. This hotel had been renovated, but it had that "smell" of an older property. The air vent in our room was disgustingly dirty.

The breakfast was an average Hampton Inn breakfast and suited our needs for one overnight stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway are noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Cheryl 00609

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff, but we apologize for the bad smell during your stay. We understand that travel is very important and try to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us In the future.

I really appreciate your taking time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean and spacious and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.
Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely

Lisa Hogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed one night at the Hampton Inn. Thought it was terrific. Arrived and the check in was fast and efficient. They were bringing out afternoon cookies when we arrived - they were delicious. Free 24 hour coffee/tea/hot chocolate.
Our room was on the first floor, had a hot tub which was great. Big room, lots of space. Bed was very comfortable. Had full control over the room temperature. Black out curtains on the windows and super quiet. Did not hear a noise at all.
Breakfast the next day was included and was really good. Lots of selection both hot and cold. All in all I would highly recommend the Hampton, great value for your money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear travel17777

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is an old property but it is very clean and well maintained. Our room had been recently renovated and was spotlessly clean. Excellent location right off the interstate 66 and just a few miles off interstate 81. Front Royal, VA itself is a neat little town to visit as well. The price of this hotel is very reasonable. I have paid much more and gotten a whole lot less. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper be sure to ask for a room on the opposite side of the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Gil B

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room, the hotel and the included breakfast are all a step above the norm. From booking through Mark! to our checkout , we were treated very well. The freshly baked cookies available when we checked in were a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Algonquin4

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room itself was nice and clean except behind the curtains. We had the room with a hot tub and it was very big which was unexpected. The bed did seem to dip a little in the middle but was comfortable. We were on the road side and the road noise wasn't too bad, we kept the fan on the A/C running for white noise though which helped. It is only minutes from downtown which was nice. We were on the 3rd floor and could smell smoke from the 4th floor periodically. Perhaps it was because we were next to the stairs. The free breakfast was good as well as the free coffee.

The internet was really slow. I had my laptop, my wife's laptop and an IPAD and the wifi signal was strong but downloading pages was slow most of the time, whether in the room or at the breakfast area. We tried to watch a movie on Netflix but the quality was low and it stopped several times to buffer which took several minutes each time so we stopped watching it. Connecting it to the physical wire didn't help and it said I was connnected at 100 Mbps. I also tried watching the end of a game on ESPN3.com while connected and it was unbearable. I wasn't there for the internet but it would have been nice to have a better connection when I did want it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear CD

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal we are so glad you enjoyed our Spacious Whirlpool Suites, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you. I apologize the internet did not meet the standards, we don't get many complaints on that however I will investigate it further. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

First of all, let me say that from what I saw, there is a Hampton Inn a Holiday Inn and Suites and I bunch of independently owned sketchy motels in the town. My company has negotiated rates at both but I prefer Hampton over any of the other regular hotel types.

The Hampton Inn was newly renovated and the breakfast area was really modern and nice. The room was good - I stayed in a king regular room - however the AC unit was strange in the sense that I was unable to figure out how to heat the room or cool it. It was either pretty cold or pretty warm. I assume that was just due to my lack of understanding the control panel.

The breakfast was what you would expect at any Hampton, adequate and free!

Only real complaint was that their freezer had been broken so I was unable to buy any ice cream in the little store in the hotel.

All in all, if/when I come back to Front Royal - this is the only place I would stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear MKS011

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you. Regarding the AC settings in the room, it is operated by the thermostat on the wall not the unit itself and our Freezer in the New Suite Shop is Fixed. Thanks for letting us know your feedback so we can continue to make presant stays for all of our guests.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Front Royal

Address: 9800 Winchester Rd, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Front Royal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're mindful of the little things - those handy amenities and thoughtful extras - that turn an ordinary hotel stay into an extraordinary one. Below are a few personal touches we hope you'll enjoy during your time with us. Hampton Suite Shop Breakfast Area, Complimentary Coin Laundry, Elevators, Laundry/Valet Service, Local Area Transportation, Multi-Lingual Staff, Room Service, Safety Deposit Box, On Site Parking. Work hard, then play hard. Our friendly Hampton team members would like to help you do both. Here are a few things our hotel offers that can help you get your job done: Audio/Visual Equipment Rental, Business Center, Business Phone Service, Fax, Meeting Rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit, we hope you'll enjoy these fun ways to relax and keep in shape. Fitness Room, Pool. Are you bringing the kids along on your trip? We've got you covered. Below are a few things we offer to please the entire family: Cribs, High chairs. Come enjoy the Shenandoah Valley and its beauty and stay at Hampton Inn Front Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Front Royal Hotel Front Royal
Front Royal Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Front Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.