We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best courses in the area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club

Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club
456 Shadows Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
866-631-9661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Activities in Front Royal
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Playing here, our customers know they will receive one of the best possible golfing experiences available. This is due to our attentive staff and the systems we have in place to provide excellent customer service at every opportunity. From the Bag drop, to the First Tee, to the maintenance crewmember, to the General Manager, to the grill attendant, the focus of our staff is to serve the customer and help them enjoy our facilities to the fullest, so they will tell their friends and want to return time and time again. Thoroughly renowned for the service we provide, outing coordinators and event planners will constantly seek us out. We will dazzle them with our attentiveness and concern for the success of their events. Coming to our club will be a sensation that their attendees will talk about for years to come. Designed by Tom Clark, Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club opened in March 2007 to rave reviews by Regional and National Golf Publications. Golf Digest Magazine ranked us #6 “Best New Affordable Public Courses” in 2007, and the Washington Post named us a ‘Natural Treasure’. In 2010 and 2011, Blue Ridge Shadows was ranked #4 Best Courses you can Play in Virginia by Golfweek Magazine and ranked #32 ‘Women-friendly courses in America’ by Golf Digest Woman Magazine!
Bunker Hill, West Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“One of the best courses in the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good course. Friendly staff. Great internet rates/deals. Play weekday evenings for best rate. Weekend rates are a little high.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRidgeShadows, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Our staff works very hard to provide a excellent service, delicious food and superb conditions as a complement to our great golf course. We truly appreciate your business, and hope to see you on the links 'In the Shadows' again soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“golf heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

just play the course love it. country club level 5 star rating hard but fair, beautiful pristine course.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRidgeShadows, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for noticing our little slice of heaven here in the Shenandoah Valley. Mother Nature provided us with spectacular views, and course designer Tom Clark artfully crafted the course routing to take advantage of the elevation changes and scenery. No wonder many call us 'Virginia's Most Beautiful Golf'. We appreciate your comments and more importantly, your business. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Challenging course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It contains some nice views of the countryside and has a mixture of hills and water hazards; #18 is an interesting challenge but only one of a number of "interesting" holes.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
yellowstone1,

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. We pride ourselves on the "interesting" layout that our designer, Tom Clark, has given us. Elevation changes, a double green, amazing water features like the 18th hole waterfall all make us the award winning golf course we are today. Thank you for noticing and thank you for your business.

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. Not sure how you can run a business the way they do - GM won't return phone calls, head pro won't return emails, staff just tells you what they think you want to hear. There are many great courses in Winchester - I would stay away from this course!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Bags4,

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. It is upsetting to read your comments regarding the our staff. Since you did not go into specific details about your experience, I would be greatly interested in receiving some additional information about your visit. Please feel free to contact Mike A. (Head Golf Professional) at 540-631-9661 if you would like to discuss your experiences further. It is clear that you did not experience everything that this course has to offer in the way of award winning golf and outstanding customer service and for that I apologize.

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved the course,condition and scenic views. Just wished the staff were a bit more friendly. I'd love to play it again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Crazy4NYGiants,

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. I am upset to read your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. As you can see from other TripAdvisor reviews, we pride ourselves on providing quality guest service. I would be greatly interested in receiving some additional information about your experiences. Please feel free to contact Mike A. (Head Golf Professional) at 540-631-9661 if you would like to discuss your experiences further. We are happy that you enjoyed the course itself and we hope you will return to visit us again soon and see that we truly do have a friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff.

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.