We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, fantastic views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Manor Vineyards

Glen Manor Vineyards
2244 Browntown Rd., Front Royal, VA 22630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Front Royal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great wines, fantastic service, knowledgeable owners, educational visit. First stop on any winetasting trip in the northern Shenandoah Valley, VA MUST include the Glen Manor Vineyards. Bag a picnic lunch, purchase a top-quality wine from these folks, and spend an hour or two on the grounds. You will not be disappointed! PS. Stop at the Elements Restaurant in Front Royal for your lunch-to-go. The gourmet food pairs nicely with all of Glen Manor's selections.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great wine, fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The tasting room is a little out of the way, but well worth the drive. Nestled below Skyline Drive, you can't beat the views and the vineyard reminds me of the vineyards along the Rhine in Germany, they dot the hillside. We were served by the vintners wife, very personable and informative. We enjoyed all of their reds and their Chardonnay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was recommended to us by friends. The owner's wife was behind the counter, and she was friendly and informative. (Get her foccacia recipe. It is yummy!) The backdrop is lovely, and we enjoyed sitting out on the back deck and looking up at the vineyards, the changing leaves, and the Skyline Drive. The wine isn't cheap, but it's good and the experience is charming and relaxing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The place was a little busy but the owner's wife was very informative and attentive, even with so many people mingling about. She was finishing up another patron's tasting/wine purchase while starting ours but she transitioned between us like a pro. The wines were very good and we wound up purchasing 3 bottles.

The property is small but very nice. There is no tour, just a tasting, and you can see the vineyard up the hill, below Skyline Drive. Beautiful view, plenty of chairs to sit and relax with a glass. There is also a small cemetery with very old gravestones, 200+ years old, where the owner's ancestors are buried.

Highly recommend checking out this vineyard if you'll be in Front Royal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good wines. Pleasant tasting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely building, pleasant owner run tasting. Lots of great information about the wine. Due to type of production, wine is a little high priced for just hanging out drinking. I purchased for fine dining.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Lovely wines and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I love the wines at Glen Manor. There are only a small handful of wineries in VA that are my hands down go to, and this is one of them. Jeff is often manning the tasting room, and he is the winemaker. Very nice gentleman and his wife is absolutely adorable! I've gone there several times and also with friends. They let us picnic on the adirondack chairs and enjoy the views. This winery is not a pop up winery. This land is his family's land passed down by generations. The quaility of wines are just excellent.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Manor Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Glen Manor Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Manor Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.