We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spelunker's Frozen Custard and Cavern Burgers

Spelunker's Frozen Custard and Cavern Burgers
116 South St, Front Royal, VA 22630-2222
540-631-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Front Royal
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A foodie's favorite burger and the one and only 'fast food' place I patronize. Go for Cavern Burgers, fries and a chocolate shake. The iced tea is fresh brewed and always good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    50
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Burgers! Better than fast food chains, same price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stopped in on my way out of Shenandoah National Park. Very good quality burger and price for a combo. I got a double bacon cheeseburger combo, with fruits and small sweet tea and the total was still under $8. I'd call that a good value.

The burger was very good, juicy and hot. In fact maybe a little too juicy for the bun, as I had problems keeping it together on the last few bites. Bacon was good quality as well. I'd rate the burgers in 4-5 scale range...that good. The fries were merely ok. I thought they were not crisp enough and overly salted/seasoned. The sweet tea was good but nothing that stood out.

Definitely a better place to stop than a chain...and the custard looked good...I just didn't have the time to try it. But get a burger!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth the Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

For a drive thru in or out of the town of Front Royal, I'd highly recommend this for a burger.
Made fresh to order.. you may have to pull up and wait 5 mintues for your food but it is worth the wait. Burgers & Shakes are Mouthwatering.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I've been waiting so long.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The treats are delicious, but the waiting is eminent ! I have never been to Spelunkers or driven by there when there wasn't a waiting line. Maybe this just denotes its popularity, but some days I just do not have the time. Good for the ones that do.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herminie
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Only stopped for ice cream. Chocolate tasted like chocolate. Just beware, this place gets very busy. Spots teams stop in so things get crowded and noisey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spelunker's Frozen Custard and Cavern Burgers also viewed

 
Front Royal, VA
 

Been to Spelunker's Frozen Custard and Cavern Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spelunker's Frozen Custard and Cavern Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.