We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lackawanna B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lackawanna B&B to your Saves list
Lackawanna B&B
236 Riverside Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
McLean, Virginia
1 review
“Great B&B choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nicely restored historic home with modern amenities, and beautiful chestnut woodwork. Sandy and Phil are great hosts, helpful with suggestions for our "things to see and do " list. They prepared an excellent breakfast with a fire going in the dining room fireplace on the cool Sunday morning. My wife took her morning tea on the front porch.
We'd go back!

Room Tip: 1st choice would be the spacious Rose room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast that my husband and I have been to. We arrived Saturday evening, Phil and Sandy were both very welcoming, they made sure we knew exactly where we needed to go if we needed to leave the house. Phil's camera collection is def something to check out, my husband and I couldn't get enough of it. The breakfast was amazing we def enjoyed it. The room was also very cozy and just what we needed to get some R&R. Thank you guys we will def be seeing you again.

Room Tip: We loved the j. webster, it was just the right size for us and the bathroom was a good size as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Tucked into the folds on the outskirts of Front Royal, this B&B was truly impressive.

The building itself is splendid, and although it appears to be 1900s painted brick structure.
The grounds are enjoyable, but need some upkeep.

Food: Breakfast was Excellent
Service: Friendly
Beds: Comfortable
Towels: Ample
Bathroom: Nice & Clean
Rooms: Large
Front porch: Great place to realx and enjoy the evening
Parking: Small gravel parking lot
Garden: Small one adjacent
Location: Just north of town
Price: Reasonable for a B&B

Would recommend.
Would go back

* we actually stayed here in July 2011 for wife's birthday weekend, but they weren't listed on TripAdvisor back then

Room Tip: Ask for directions to hiking trails. The old fire watch tower was a nice short hike (wife was pregna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, the home was nice and relaxing along with amenties we did not know we would receive, complementary wine and goodies, there was even a back and foot massaging machine! Sandy and Phil were friendly and helpful, they made their home ours. The morning coffee on the front porch was the best! The breakfasts provided were wonderful and plenty to eat. I would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: pick the Rose Room, but they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great weekend getaway at Lackawanna B&B. Phil and Sandy were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the quiche and freshly baked muffins the second morning. The room we stayed in (the Webster), is very well furnished but small (but cosy). The only tiny issue we had was the position of the TV in our room. Instead of placing the TV in front of the bed the TV is placed on the left side of the room which makes viewing from the bed a wee bit awkward. But this does not take away anything from the overall quality, service and value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonMass
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Alright travelers to B&B's..........if you want a great location , beautiful home , outstanding owners , excellant advice on things to do , and wonderful breakfasts then this is the place in FRONT ROYAL !
Phil and Sandra were wonderful but not intrusive . Enjoyed a peaceful retreat here and learning about the renovating they did on the inn . If you are starting or ending a trip on SKYLINE DRIVE this is the place.
Happy 50th anniversary PHIL and SANDRA !

Tom & Patty (Boston )

Room Tip: Pick the Jay West
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. I felt very comfortable as if I were staying at a relative's house. The hosts were charming. The room was comfortable and clean. We did have to go out into the hallway to get to our private bathroom. They provide bathrobes for their guests just for that purpose. The breakfast was not gormet, but was good. Excellent poached eggs. Great place for porch sitting and nice view. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lackawanna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lackawanna B&B

Address: 236 Riverside Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lackawanna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lackawanna B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.