We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals on our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
101 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630 (Formerly Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar)
540-631-3045
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 73 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the best meals on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I got the burger with their asian twist on slaw and french onion soup. Best french onion soup I ever had- lots of onion, rich beef broth, good bread toasted with real parmesan! Very good value for the quality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
num1mnmeater,

Wow!!! What a review! We are so very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal with us!! We take pride in all of our beverages and foods, and love hearing such great feedback! Next time ask for our Soup of the Day! Not only do we add new twists to old recipes, but we like to change it up from time to time! Can't wait to see you again soon and thank you so much for the great review!!

Shannon Young
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been here several times in the past and as always the tortilla soup is very good. I had the Saturday drink special that was the Basil and Berry Bliss. I quite enjoyed that. For my dinner I decided to order the mussels. That I didn't care for. My wife liked it but I wouldn't order it again. It had a chipotle flavor to it and I like th traditional with garlic. She ordered the top sirloin well done with a baked potato. The potato came out a little under done and so did the steak. I mentioned it to our server and she immediately took it away. The manager showed up shortly and said he would replace her whole meal. It arrived shortly and was cooked properly. I have to say that since John the manager had left years ago that the restaurant had slid back a notch or two but I would come back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
dogface1739

We would like to thank you for your review of us on TripAdvisor! We would also like to apologize that your order wasn't to your expectations this visit. We are happy to here that our manager on duty was able to correct and provide you with a much better meal. However, we aim for perfection and appreciate you letting us know where we need improvement. I have mentioned this to our Executive Chef Chad Smoot, and we will work as a team to see that these areas are met with progress. Thank you very much again from all of us here at Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, and we can't wait to serve you in the near future!


Shannon Young
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
“Vegetarian respected again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Houlihan's caters to the patron. The meatless meal I requested was great, with flavor and the presentation was wonderful. Thanks to the chef for making the patron happy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
revstanley247,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar is very happy to hear that we were able to succeed with your meal! Being able to prepare entrees from scratch gives us the ability to do so! Thank you so much for the great review!!! And we can't wait to serve you again really soon!


Shannon Young,
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ate here for breakfast before we checked out of the hotel. The restaurant is nice, new and clean inside. They serve as the Holiday Inn's restaurant and the breakfast menu is from the hotel but has a nice selection. Everything was good quality and fresh. The omelets said they were 3-egg but they must have been pretty small chickens, that said they were tasty. Kid's pancakes is 2 cakes plus 2 pieces of bacon. Toast is nice whole grain bread. Service was nice but it seemed to take an awfully long time to get the food, this seemed to be an issue with the kitchen though, not the waitress. The place was not terribly crowded so I don't think they were overwhelmed.

If staying here I'd definitely eat here again just because of the convenience and it was good, but I'd make sure I had plenty of time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
thiswaythatway,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar wants to thank you for leaving us a review, and is happy that you enjoyed your meal. We would, however, like to apologize that your meal seemed to take longer than it should have. We have a wonderful policy of steps of service that requires all servers to announce the time of your breakfast arrival. Now pending on what you have ordered, the amount of people in your party, and the pace of business walking in the door, these times will vary. But with that said, your meals should have been within the time frame we train them to be. I am very grateful you mentioned that it was not a server error, but perhaps the kitchen staff. I will be sure to relay this message to our staff and insure that they pick up their pace accordingly! Thank you again for your visit, and we look forward to serving you even better on your next stay!

Shannon Young
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Drinks and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great restaurant in a small town. We come in a few times a month from the Stephens City, VA area and really love the wings, stuffed chicken breast entree and their mini desserts. They have a really good drink selection too with quite a few beers on draft. I would recommend this restaurant to both locals and the traveler passing through while golfing or staying at the Holiday Inn.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
T N,


Wow!! You nailed it! Thank you for such a great review! I couldn't agree with you more. We, as a team, aim for and want you to have a great experience with your meal! And for those who may be traveling or need a place to stay, we are attached to a wonderful Holiday Inn & Suites that will be not only convenient for you, but incredibly comfortable and home away from home! Who could pass us up? A home welcoming place to stay with home cooking meals to enjoy! Can't wait to see you!


Beverage Manager,
Shannon Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 
Front Royal, VA
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.