We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodward House on Manor Grade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodward House on Manor Grade
413 South Royal Ave., Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Joan and her husband made us feel at home from the moment we stepped in the door to the moment we left. The atmosphere was perfect as we looked out over the Blue Ridge. The breakfast was excellent. Thanks for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Joan and Bob are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Everything is freshly baked, even the butter was homemade. It was the best breakfast we have had since arriving in the US a week ago. Woodward house is family orientated and warm and welcoming. They offered complimentary good quality wine and beer and were very friendly, warm and generous hosts.
The location was perfect for our trip along Skyline Drive which commenced a few minutes away.
Thank you Joan & Bob.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have the pleasure of staying at Woodward House 2-3 times per year, and after every visit we begin to make plans for our next trip. We have been staying with Joan and Bob for many years. They are fabulous hosts! Whether you need a few quiet days away from Washington, DC or if you are just passing through Front Royal, you MUST STAY at the Woodward House. Every room is beautifully decorated and each has a private bath. There are two detached, huge cottages just steps away from the B&B, and they have gorgeous accommodations with private baths, kitchens and porches. Joan's daily to-order, skip-lunch breakfasts are First Class, and prepares you for a day of hiking, canoeing or walking around town. Enjoying the evening complimentary beer and wine is a perfect way to complete a peaceful day.

Room Tip: Splurge and reserve a suite with a fireplace. The two cottages are really fun, too, with a fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Woodward House on three occasions and can honestly say that you cannot ask for better hosts or accommodations. The rooms are immaculate. The breakfast is amazing and our hosts are a delight. I particularly enjoy wandering around the house examining all the great objects they have collected over the years. You will feel completely at home.

Room Tip: We like Nancy's Perch. The cottages are quite nice though we have not personally stayed in them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After driving the entire length of the Skyline Drive we arrived at the Woodward House to be welcomed by the warmest of hosts. Our cottage was fantastic, breakfast as truly "no lunch necessary", and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We went on the advice of friends and had a lovely time. The b&b is quaint and charming, the breakfast was DIVINE, and the hosts are wonderful. If you are in the area and looking for a b&b, you will like this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The folks who run this place are super-friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and immaculate, and the breakfast cannot be beat.

I always choose this B&B whenever I'm nearby. I just completed a three-week meander throughout the south and th Woodward was the best out of all the pla

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodward House on Manor Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward House on Manor Grade

Address: 413 South Royal Ave., Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodward House on Manor Grade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Woodward House on Manor Grade to your Saves list