We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodward House on Manor Grade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodward House on Manor Grade
Save
You added Woodward House on Manor Grade to your Saves list
413 South Royal Ave., Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best B&B Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having never been at a B&B in the Virgina area, I couldn't have been more pleased with the wonderful experience my mom and I had at the Woodward House. Looking for a weekend of wine tours and relaxation, we got exactly that. Perfect recommendations on which vineyards to visit, a bar in the living room that was ours for the taking at night, and amazing service! Joan and Bob were wonderful hosts - inviting, charming, and willing to chat with us over a beer at "the bar". The room was comfy and welcoming with wonderful smelling shampoos and lotions -- as well as fresh cookies. Add in what has to go down as the best breakfast in the world (my choice - chocolate chip blueberry pancakes, can't go wrong) and you are set! I will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Woodward House at the beginning and end of our bike trip on the Skyline Drive. It's perfectly located for that, about a half mile away from the Drive. There are also some very good restaurants a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Bob is a wonderful host -- friendly and charming, we were made to fell at home and would definitely stay again if we were in the area. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

One of the strangest but most welcoming and truly lovely bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed in! amazing food, free beer and a stepladder to get up to bed! It was beautiful and bob and Joan are the best hosts. Book it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was absolutely delightful! Spend a coulee of days here, and enjoyed it mightily. From the cheerful greeting of the innkeeper through the goodbye breakfast, it was an experience to remember. Joan and Bob are both pleasant , helpful, interesting folks, and they really strive to make their large house a home to all. We had ( and i can't figure out why) been given an upgrade from a room to a suite, and we adored it!! It was like a little apartment of our own, so we didn't go out and tour one afternoon, just sat around and absorbed the atmosphere. Very strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you wan to feel like newlyweds in your first home, try Elizabeth's Suite!!! LIttle icing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here two nights on a trip to Shenandoah National Park. The town of Front Royal is a great base for exploring the entire Shenandoah Valley area, including wineries, the park, and other small towns. We had planned on a full day of hiking and sightseeing... but ended up snowbound for half the day during that freak Halloween snowstorm. We didn't mind though, and we eventually ventured out to a local whisky distillery called Copper Fox. Highly recommend going there if you like whisky (yes, without the "e,"). The tour is really neat, and they sell "age-it-yourself" kits with a mini barrel and bottles of unaged spirits.

Anyway. The house is easy to miss if you're not looking closely. It's set back from the road a bit up a short but steep hill. Plenty of parking is available. Bob, Joan, and Kathy are fantastic hosts. We felt welcome from the minute we walked in the door.

We stayed in a mini-suite room with a sitting area and semi-separated sleeping area. Joan stocks the rooms with water, snacks, and homemade cookies, yum! The bed was absolutely amazing. It was a high, carved-oak queen-sized mountain of a bed. It was piled so high with a featherbed and down comforter that it stood taller than my waist! Luckily small stepstools were provided for getting into and out of it. When we woke up to the snow, I didn't want to get out of bed. But breakfast is only till 9:00 a.m. Feel free to come down in your jammies though, it's super-relaxed!

Speaking of breakfast... wow can Joan cook! Omelettes to order, homemade muffins, fresh fruit, french toast, dry cereals, slow-cooker oatmeal, cinnamon apples, four kinds of flavored sugars, coffee/tea, fresh-squeezed OJ, etc. etc. Sunday morning we were treated to "sin on a saucer" which was some strange and wonderful cross between a popover and a cinnamon roll. Incredible. Also on Sunday, they have cheese biscuits with sausage gravy... not for the faint of heart. I couldn't finish mine, and they were so rich it made my stomach hurt.

Staying here really is like staying with your family. Bob and Joan might be your loving, slightly kooky aunt & uncle, and Kathy is Joan's twin sister. It's fun trying to tell them apart! All of the guests staying that weekend ended up hanging out much of the night in the living room near the fireplace and around the bar (which has complimentary wine & beer on tap). Maybe it's just the kind of people this inn attracts, but it was nice to interact with people instead of staying holed up in a hotel room.

The only negative thing that happened was that the fireplace got backed up a couple of times, sending smoke out into the living room and upstairs into the guest rooms. All the guests banded together and opened the windows, and it wasn't a huge deal. Made me a little nervous though, since they had a fire going almost all the time. I think the house is a little careworn and could use a touch (just a touch) of updating, but we're still very excited to plan a return trip in the spring. And hopefully it won't snow again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We LOVED Woodward House.
My husband and I have stayed in many Hotels and B+B's all over the world, we are now sailing around the world and wanted a very homely place to stay for a few days after a hectic UK visit before returning to our boat. We got homely in spades.
The website that Bob has put together is great. Informative and useful for tourists.
We arrived to the friendliest of welcomes and were shown to our beautiful cabin - an upgrade from a stunning room and a lovely surprise (photos added). The attention to detail was quite amazing - a welcome drink, cookies, popcorn and sweets. The bathroom was top drawer - a Jacuzzi bath, gel, shampoo even a little pot of talcum powder.
The breakfast that Joan produces is out of this world - all home made and cooked to order, the freshest eggs, the biggest muffins and no need to eat for the rest of the day.
After a day of exploring a welcome in the complementary bar and chance to spin some tales.
We have no hesitation in highly recommending this unique place. Truly an experience we will never forget.
Thank you Joan and Bob ( Kathy and Don too ) xx xx

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique, the beds very comfortable, the cabins stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodward House on Manor Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward House on Manor Grade

Address: 413 South Royal Ave., Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodward House on Manor Grade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.