We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Skyline Drive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Skyline Drive to your Saves list
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Commerce Ave., Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here while moving from NJ to GA. Good value for the money. Nice rooms and very good parking if you are towing a trailer. Only complaisant is that it isn't close to the interstate, however the staff gave me great directions over the phone and it's fairly easy to get to the interstate on main highways.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    64
    54
    32
    30
See reviews for
53
89
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

For the money, the Quality Inn was a winner. They accommodated us and our pet (small Shepard mix) quite well. Now, for the money, it's not going to be the Ritz, but it was clean, well maintained, and the Thai Restaurant on premises was very good! A nominal $15 charge for the dog was fair, and the staff was friendly. Not too far from the park entrance, and all in all, made for a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Quality Inn boosts: “The Quality Inn® Skyline Drive nestled within the picturesque setting of the beautiful Shenandoah Valley and the Blue Ridge Mountains.” They are; the entrance is less than 2-3 miles away.

We were traveling on motorcycle and knew we just needed a place to lay our heads and shower. We stayed only because of proximity to the mountains and our membership in the Choice Hotels.

The price you pay for a room is “price gouging” compared to the quality and amenities at this hotel. It is listed as $70.00 per night and they do have specials where you can get a lower price and/or your membership in the Choice Hotels might find you a better price. This hotel should not charge anything above $45.00 per night not matter what.

The Quality Inn was advertized to have Free Wi-Fi and Free Continental Breakfast. There’s no Wi-Fi in the room we had…the clerk on duty said it was down in most rooms; however, there was a computer in the lobby to use. Really?

The free continental breakfast was okay. It had some cereal, pastries (which looked day’s old), hard-boiled eggs, hot sausage, what appeared to be scrambled egg squares (yuck), yogurt, milk, juice, and coffee. No fruit was available such as bananas and apples. Side note: there is a restaurant attached to the hotel and you can enter it through the lobby—the restaurant seating area is where the continental breakfast was served—doing double time.

Our room was on the second floor and the whole walk way was leaning down towards the courtyard…it felt as if you were walking slanted to the left. The clerk’s apologies were, “It is a very old hotel.” The ice machine on the third floor was the only working one we could find.

The room smelled musky as if not being used for a very long time or cleaned in a very long time; however, we did inspect the room and found it cleaned. I always travel with my UAV light so I cleaned the chair, bedding, bed, sink, tub, and most of the carpet (only took an hour).

The microwave in the room we did not use; however, it was clean. The refrigerator was old; however, it was working just no “freezer compartment” available to freeze bottle water which I like to do for our day trips into the mountains.

They mention an exercise room; well they do have one right across from the check-in desk with two machines in there so technically, it is an exercise room.

The elevators are as old as the hotel which the clerk said was close to 60 years old. They work very slowly, open very slowly, close very slowly and you can only get two people in there.

Front Royal is a very beautiful little town. The historic main street has a “home town” feeling. We love Front Royal; however, next time, we will stay someplace else---this hotel is too run down.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a courtyard room...the street side is very noisy. Also, do not pay the full pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was pleasently surprised by the value. Jessie at the front desk was very helpful with great recommendation. While the hotel is older it had everything I needed. A great Thai restaurant connected to the lobby was very handy. I had a nice walk around downtown Front Royal. The enterance to the north part of Skyline Drive is not far away. pleny of gas stations nearby to get fuel for the trip too. The breakfast selection and quality was very good. all the staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed on the second floor. the stairs and elevator were easily accessible and worked well.

Room Tip: try the Thai restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a friendly, clean, average priced hotel. It is close to a great Thai restaurant and other amenities. They are hiker friendly offering assistance to through hikers of the AT. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of the local attractions. The room was clean and fresh. The sheets and towels were soft and clean and the water hot. A nice location for a short stop over. I rated this overall as average because I did request an extra blanket and they never got back to me either delivering one or calling me to advise they could not locate one. Other than that it was ok

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is an older hotel. The only thing newer was the tv. The room just felt dirty. I made the error of booking a smoking room- BAD IDEA. The a/c was old and did not keep the room cool. The water did not drain well in the shower. The mattress was old and not very comfortable. I usually give everyone the benefit of the doubt, but I would not stay here again and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Quality Inn is nothing to write home about on the outside, but clean very nice rooms on the inside. Professional, courteous staff made us feel welcome. Had supper at the " breakfast room" at the Thai restaurant there and it was fantastic! The breakfast buffet was adequate and good. Located in town very close to entrance to Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive, and many other local attractions around Front Royal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
0.7 mi away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#6 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
20.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Skyline Drive

Address: 10 Commerce Ave., Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Skyline Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Skyline Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Skyline Drive Hotel Front Royal
Skyline Drive Lodging
Quality Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.