We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice caverns, meh guide” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Caverns

Skyline Caverns
US Highway 340, 10344 Stonewall Jackson Hwy, Front Royal, VA 22630
800-296-4545
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Caves in the Shenandoah Valley that feature anthodites, rare rock formations.
Newark, Delaware, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice caverns, meh guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The caverns were amazing and worth seeing, but unfortunately our guide was apathetic and hard to understand. Take a jacket with you - it's a bit chilly. For those who have strollers or use walkers, be prepared to carry them through a few narrow passageways and up the 66 stairs at the end of the tour. The staff had told one elderly woman that her seat walker would fit just fine through the caverns - it did not.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    63
    16
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very neat caverns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited the Skyline caverns in July 2013. It is beautiful. Tour lasts 1 hour. It costs $18, but there is a $2 discount/ticket on their website. Definitely worth the visit. It is always 54 degrees, so dress appropriately. I visited with my wife and 4month old boy. He did very well for most of the visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Caverns Great - The Guide needs Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Took my great nephew and great nieces ages 7 and 6. They loved the caverns and all the little nooks and crannies. Great place to take pictures. However, the guide was terrible, he spoke really fast and appeared uninspired when he delivered the history. I asked him to slow down because you could not understand him. I was very proud of the little ones they did ask questions but it would have been better if he showed some passion rather than just a rehearsed job. We did take advantage of another attraction on the property. The kids rode the train, we were going to ride with them because we were under the impression that the train did something other than go in circles. The kids loved the train, but it is not worth the money for an adult. We had lunch there on the grounds overall a great day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Skyline Caverns is an amazing place to see nature at it finest. With all the beauties beneath the earth, it's hard to believe that we're walking above it. This is a great value for children and adults and not as big as Luray. A little uphill walking is involved, so some could get winded, but the tour guide will wait to be sure everyone is together and safe. Very friendly enviornment and some fun gifts in the gift-shop too. Little train runs outside for the smaller visitors - my nephews and grandsons LOVE it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you like caves, don't miss this one. Some of these formations are 17,000 to 100,000 years old.

In 1937, geologists around the world stood in awe as Walter S. Amos discovered the underground wonder he always hoped to uncover. He carefully examined surface topography, exposing a secret that had lain beneath the earth's surface for 60 million years. This method of scientific analysis makes the discovery of Skyline Caverns rare, if not unique.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Skyline Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.