We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to getting that cigar 8/10” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very close to getting that cigar 8/10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

LOCATION-A short hop from town in a semi rural location just far enough from the slab not to hear it.
PROPERTY-Fairly new, nice big lobby with a restaurant right next door.
ROOMS/BEDS-Smart and spacious very similar to Hampton Inns. Super comfy beds and the best nights sleep on my two week vacation touring.
SERVICE-Good but here is where they missed out on that cigar. Although the staff were pleasant and friendly they neglected to tell us what the breakfast procedure is. Breakfast is taken next door but you need a voucher for ten bucks. We found this out after we had paid the check. No real biggie though as they knocked it off our bill which fortunately we were paying in cash.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will review our breakfast voucher procedures with the front desk so that they will do a better job of explaining the procedures to our guests who choose this option. Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    102
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
88
129
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love to hike Shenandoah during all seasons of the year, this is our go to stay when spending a weekend in Front Royal and hiking in the park. It is clean, comfortable, the food is great even room service is very good. It is convenient to the northern park entrance and overlooks a beautiful new golf course.

Room Tip: any of the king suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your repeat business during your recent hiking trip. I am glad you find our rooms to be convenient to your needs and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was impressed with this place. Not always am with Holiday Inn but this one had a lovely, characterful bar, decent pool and the location next to a golf course with views of the countryside was excellent. Was the first night of a week and a half trawl through Virginia and we thoroughly enjoyed it. No complaints

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. I am glad that you found us to be suitable to your needs and we hope that you continue to choose Holiday Inns worldwide.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We used this property as our home base on a family trip to the Luray area. Although it was a bit of a trek to the caverns and river raft co. it was close to I-66 and a good old-fashioned drive-in movie (a real draw). Our suite had a bedroom separate from the living area and the children slept on the sofabed. A tasty menu selected breakfast was included in the rate. The hotel was located at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Course so Dad could play while the kids were occopied at the indoor pool. There are many good restaurants in the area. We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend in part to our accommodation.

Room Tip: The "view" suites are actually on the lower floors because the property is built into a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent trip to the Shenandoah Valley. I am glad you found us convenient to the local attractions including the Family Drive In (movie theater) which makes for a great night out. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for 3 nights in a double queen room overlooking the golf course. The bedroom was a little small and lacked comfortable seating but the bathroom was a good size with a separate area for the commode. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel contained quality furnishings and was well maintained and appeared very clean. We were told the inn was 5 years old but it appeared to be about a year old. The hotel is a couple miles from the freeway but we loved the open area and property surrounding it. Shopping is close by. Houlihan's Restaurant is attached to the hotel and the food there is pretty good. It would be nice if H.I. offered at least a $5 voucher per person for breakfast since none is served at the inn. The hotel staff members were all extremely friendly!

Room Tip: Select a suite or accessible room if you want more room to move around. No breakfast served at hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit to the area. Thank you for dining at Houlihans as well.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Va.
Level Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

By far the #1 hotel in Front Royal. There area number of hotels in FR but this HI is the best. It's not next to any shopping or restaurants which makes it a better place. Less traffic and noise to deal with. There is a Houlihan's on site and you are within 2 miles of restaurants as well as some shopping. Easy access to I 66 and close to I 81. Easy drive to Winchester. The lobby is large and well decorated and the rooms comfortable. I had a room with a nice view of the golf course behind the hotel. It appears to be a very nice course but I don't golf so I can't really say much about it. I have two cell phone pics and will see if I can download them. This is not the typical hotel nor a typical Holiday Inn. It has much more and is more in line with a more expensive hotel. I am just finishing a one week stay here.

Pic 2 was taken from inside my room.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for sharing your pictures. We appreciate you saying that we are the #1 hotel in the area. This means a lot to our staff as it is an important goal of ours. Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were very pleased with our room, it was clean, the shower had excellent pressure and fitness center is well stocked with different machines and weights, which is rare. They have a beautiful pool but the chemicals were not quite right the day we were there. They also have a sauna but it was way to hot to use. The restaurant was alright, not outstanding, although the staff there was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. I wanted to let you know that the maintenance team does everything they can to provide a consistent and safe pool and hot tub experience to our guests each day. Thank you for bringing an inconsistency to our attention.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg
5.3 mi away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#5 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.