We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-maintained Inn with lovely surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersGold level
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well-maintained Inn with lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for 3 nights in a double queen room overlooking the golf course. The bedroom was a little small and lacked comfortable seating but the bathroom was a good size with a separate area for the commode. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel contained quality furnishings and was well maintained and appeared very clean. We were told the inn was 5 years old but it appeared to be about a year old. The hotel is a couple miles from the freeway but we loved the open area and property surrounding it. Shopping is close by. Houlihan's Restaurant is attached to the hotel and the food there is pretty good. It would be nice if H.I. offered at least a $5 voucher per person for breakfast since none is served at the inn. The hotel staff members were all extremely friendly!

Room Tip: Select a suite or accessible room if you want more room to move around. No breakfast served at hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit to the area. Thank you for dining at Houlihans as well.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    94
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
80
112
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Va.
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

By far the #1 hotel in Front Royal. There area number of hotels in FR but this HI is the best. It's not next to any shopping or restaurants which makes it a better place. Less traffic and noise to deal with. There is a Houlihan's on site and you are within 2 miles of restaurants as well as some shopping. Easy access to I 66 and close to I 81. Easy drive to Winchester. The lobby is large and well decorated and the rooms comfortable. I had a room with a nice view of the golf course behind the hotel. It appears to be a very nice course but I don't golf so I can't really say much about it. I have two cell phone pics and will see if I can download them. This is not the typical hotel nor a typical Holiday Inn. It has much more and is more in line with a more expensive hotel. I am just finishing a one week stay here.

Pic 2 was taken from inside my room.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for sharing your pictures. We appreciate you saying that we are the #1 hotel in the area. This means a lot to our staff as it is an important goal of ours. Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were very pleased with our room, it was clean, the shower had excellent pressure and fitness center is well stocked with different machines and weights, which is rare. They have a beautiful pool but the chemicals were not quite right the day we were there. They also have a sauna but it was way to hot to use. The restaurant was alright, not outstanding, although the staff there was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. I wanted to let you know that the maintenance team does everything they can to provide a consistent and safe pool and hot tub experience to our guests each day. Thank you for bringing an inconsistency to our attention.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I've been at this hotel before and I had nothing to complain about...

Great spacious room, fast Internet, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and very comfortable bed...

The Houlihan's restaurant on the premise is always a great addition...

However, this time around, I had a pretty bad experience at check in...

Not only I had to wait forever (the manager was too busy somewhere else) and the other lady was not able to help...

So, we were 5-6 guests waiting in line for check in...

Then I gave my name and the manager was not able to find my reservation... A few minutes later she found it... Then told me I had to call Priceline since their credit card on file was declined (why should I contact Priceline??? I already paid them for my stay). I told the manager she had to call them and showed her my Priceline invoice and receipt...

Then she told me I had to pay the full price to stay or I had to contact Priceline!!!

I was not happy and now there was 2-3 new guest waiting in line for only 1 girls who can check us in... The other girls was texting on her smart phone like she was bored or something...

After asking her again to call Priceline, she type for a few minutes on her keyboard and told me she enter the wrong credit card info for Priceline and finally accept my reservation!!!

Well, I was not very please for this unwelcoming check in...

Everything else about this hotel was great fortunately...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your continued business with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, we greatly appreciate it. I apologize for the poor check in process during your recent visit. We have ensured that the front desk is better prepared for our guests at check in. One note, do not forget that with the Holiday Inn Lowest Internet Rate Guarantee that you will always find the lowest listed prices on the internet on our own brand site, HolidayInn.com.
We look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We needed a spot to have a single day 6-person round table meeting and we choose the Holiday Inn @ Blue Ridge Shadows. The meeting room was set up and the refreshments were as ordered. I highly suggest contacting this HI for business meetings. The overnight accommodations were wonderful, and the breakfast was very good. The server named "Ben" deserves 5 star's for the way he handled our group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows for your recent meeting. I have let the sales staff know about your comments and they were all very proud of the team that served you. We hope you will come back for your next meeting. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is really such a nice hotel. We live locally and stayed here while we were having some unexpected work done on our home. Everyone was very kind and accommodating. Hotel itself is super clean and modern. Bed was very comfortable. Our son loved the pool and "his room" in the suite. The mini bar area with sink, fridge and microwave was a lifesaver as I had to prepare and pack school lunches. Room service was delivered within 15-20 minutes every time we ordered and the food at Houlihans was really top-notch. I cannot say enough nice things about the property and the staff they employ here. They really made us feel at home during a tough time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows and for your fabulous review of our "Fabulous hotel". I am very happy to hear that the pool was perfect for your son and that the staff treated you as family. These are excellent comments and I will share them with the staff. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel and Houligans restaurant were both fine. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a good sized hotel pool.

However, the arrangements for changing were unsatisfactory. There were no changing rooms, no lockers and no showers. Reception suggested we change in the single ladies and gents toilets just outside the pool. We took our belongings into the pool area. Small towels were available.

We found it strange that these arrangements were so inconvenient in an otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows and for your comments regarding the pool. I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding the lack of changing area at the pool to our owners and see if there is a potential for future changing areas. If not maybe there is something we can do to retrofit the pool bathrooms to better serve this purpose. Thank you for your comments in this regard.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (among the Best Holiday Inns) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (among Best New Holiday Inns). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, DuPont and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.