We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as previous stay except worst welcoming customer service ever!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersGold level
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
418 reviews 418 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“As great as previous stay except worst welcoming customer service ever!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I've been at this hotel before and I had nothing to complain about...

Great spacious room, fast Internet, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and very comfortable bed...

The Houlihan's restaurant on the premise is always a great addition...

However, this time around, I had a pretty bad experience at check in...

Not only I had to wait forever (the manager was too busy somewhere else) and the other lady was not able to help...

So, we were 5-6 guests waiting in line for check in...

Then I gave my name and the manager was not able to find my reservation... A few minutes later she found it... Then told me I had to call Priceline since their credit card on file was declined (why should I contact Priceline??? I already paid them for my stay). I told the manager she had to call them and showed her my Priceline invoice and receipt...

Then she told me I had to pay the full price to stay or I had to contact Priceline!!!

I was not happy and now there was 2-3 new guest waiting in line for only 1 girls who can check us in... The other girls was texting on her smart phone like she was bored or something...

After asking her again to call Priceline, she type for a few minutes on her keyboard and told me she enter the wrong credit card info for Priceline and finally accept my reservation!!!

Well, I was not very please for this unwelcoming check in...

Everything else about this hotel was great fortunately...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your continued business with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, we greatly appreciate it. I apologize for the poor check in process during your recent visit. We have ensured that the front desk is better prepared for our guests at check in. One note, do not forget that with the Holiday Inn Lowest Internet Rate Guarantee that you will always find the lowest listed prices on the internet on our own brand site, HolidayInn.com.
We look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    95
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
83
120
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We needed a spot to have a single day 6-person round table meeting and we choose the Holiday Inn @ Blue Ridge Shadows. The meeting room was set up and the refreshments were as ordered. I highly suggest contacting this HI for business meetings. The overnight accommodations were wonderful, and the breakfast was very good. The server named "Ben" deserves 5 star's for the way he handled our group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows for your recent meeting. I have let the sales staff know about your comments and they were all very proud of the team that served you. We hope you will come back for your next meeting. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is really such a nice hotel. We live locally and stayed here while we were having some unexpected work done on our home. Everyone was very kind and accommodating. Hotel itself is super clean and modern. Bed was very comfortable. Our son loved the pool and "his room" in the suite. The mini bar area with sink, fridge and microwave was a lifesaver as I had to prepare and pack school lunches. Room service was delivered within 15-20 minutes every time we ordered and the food at Houlihans was really top-notch. I cannot say enough nice things about the property and the staff they employ here. They really made us feel at home during a tough time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows and for your fabulous review of our "Fabulous hotel". I am very happy to hear that the pool was perfect for your son and that the staff treated you as family. These are excellent comments and I will share them with the staff. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel and Houligans restaurant were both fine. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a good sized hotel pool.

However, the arrangements for changing were unsatisfactory. There were no changing rooms, no lockers and no showers. Reception suggested we change in the single ladies and gents toilets just outside the pool. We took our belongings into the pool area. Small towels were available.

We found it strange that these arrangements were so inconvenient in an otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows and for your comments regarding the pool. I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding the lack of changing area at the pool to our owners and see if there is a potential for future changing areas. If not maybe there is something we can do to retrofit the pool bathrooms to better serve this purpose. Thank you for your comments in this regard.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I was curious about the Holiday Inn because we usually stay at the Hampton Inn, which is slightly less expensive.

We only stayed overnight, but was very comfortable. Room was spacious, nice bathroom. I liked the teeny mouthwash bottle. My husband appreciated how high the nozzle was in the shower (what is with hotels where tall men have to stoop to rinse their head?). I liked that the towels were a little bigger than normal and that there were lots of pillows. This is a total non-smoking hotel, which is nice since some hotels have the cigarette smell drifting over even if you are in a non-smoking room. The attached Houlihan's restaurant allows kids under 12 to eat free breakfast, plus they gave us a $20 coupon towards our meal. So our breakfast was $6 (3 adults and 3 children). Overall pleasant stay.

The one benefit to the Hampton Inn is the free buffet breakfast -- if you are traveling with kids, there is nothing easier. If you don't care about that or would prefer an on-site restaurant, than the Holiday Inn is a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. I am glad that you took advantage of the Holiday Inn Kids Eat Free program, which is a standard of all Holiday Inns and was an industry first. It is a very convenient option for families. We appreciate that you choose us and hope to see you again some day.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at this Holiday Inn to break up traveling over 2 days. We reserved a king suite for 2 adults, a 4 year old, 1 year old. This worked out bc the master had a door that shut and the living area was a separate area.
Very clean hotel. Pool was in nice shape with pool towels provided. Nice hot tub, too.
Location close to restaurants, Walmart & Target. Minutes from highway.
Con: no breakfast included.
Overall - will stay again to break up travel days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. It is wonderful to have you as a guest.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Except for its actual proximity to the Shenandoah National Park (actually it is a bit north of the town of Front Royal), this was a perfect hotel. The room was immaculate, service was great, and the hotel had all the amenities that we value - very comfy beds and pillows, an in-room refrigerator and coffee service, free all-day coffee service in the lobby, and a lovely pool. We found this hotel on Priceline and paid under $90 a night, which was much cheaper than the over-priced rooms in the Park. No problem with noise, which is a big deal to my husband, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating when he asked for a room/section of the hotel which would most likely be quiet. Attached restaurant is a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask the desk to accommodate your needs - a quiet section of the hotel, a room facing away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, for your review and for the great "tip" you left for future guests. We appreciate you as a customer.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.