We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Front Royal !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersGold level
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
203 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Front Royal !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

After so many bad experiences in other hotels (that we should simply call cheap motels), I decided to only choose 3 stars hotels in this area...

So far, Hotwire always pick that one for me ;-) with 3 stars ratings of course... Don't go with 2 stars or 2 stars and half around here; you will be greatly disappointed!!!

Well, warm & kind welcoming staff... I arrived very early (1 pm) and they had a room clean for me in 10 minutes... Was able to relax, take a shower (their bathroom is wide, clean, awesome!!!).

Next door, there is a nice golf course and you are minutes away from Front Royal downtown and 15 minutes away from the National Park where I went for a splendid hike in the afternoon...

Also you can't beat the excellent restaurant next to the hotel : Houlihan's where everything is made from scratch, fresh and delicious!!!

The room was great!!! 2 double beds very comfortable, great wifi Internet, nice Flat Screen HD TV...

A great experience!!! You will not be disappointed ;-)

Breakfast is not included but you can have breakfast at Houlihan's for less then $10 and have a delicious meal!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
benoitleblanc,

Thank you for your repeat business to the Holiday Inn Front Royal. We appreciate that you continue to choose our hotel for your Front Royal lodging needs. I am proud to read your review and see that the staff of the hotel has done such a great job in anticipating and meeting your needs. I will be certain to share your comments with the entire staff of the hotel and the staff and management of Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar.

We look forward to your continued business.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    94
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
80
112
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for one night, the room was large and clean. We were glad that it had a restaurant attached as it was a little bit out of the way, and we didn't have to use the car. We had breakfast included in the price which was very good, but there was only one waitress on duty and a lot of people to serve, so we had to wait for quite a long time. Usual holiday inn standard which is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
cardifftravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel team with your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found the rooms to your liking and that the restaurant was suitable for your needs. I am going to share your feedback regarding the staffing levels at the restaurant with the management team there and we will discuss ways to improve breakfast service for future guests. Thank you very much for your business.

Safe travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this particular Holiday Inn many times on business. The staff is friendly, helpful, welcoming and the hotel is very very clean. I have never wanted to look into other hotels in the area because of how much I enjoy my stay here. I wish all Holiday Inn's were this nice. Unfortunately, they aren't the best!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Biztrav_0514,

Thank you for your repeat business to the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We appreciate your loyalty and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences here, on TripAdvisor. I am going to share your comments with our staff so that they can see that they are making a difference for our guests. Thank you.

Safe travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were meeting family for a long weekend trip, and this hotel met most all of our needs. I had read the revies that the beds were comfortable - and the beds were VERY comfortable; the hotel was clean and had all the comforts you needed. Houlihans restaurant is right there for convenience, but many other eating places nearby as well as shopping for items forgotten (Walmart/Target). The staff were great - providing excellent suggestions and routes to places to visit/eat. Price was very reasonable for this hotel - wish breakfast was included is the only drawback I can think of. Recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
NC_Travels_with_kids,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, your business is certainly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was attentive to your needs. It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments along to our employees. Hope to see you again soon!

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had some bad Motel experiences on our trip and decided only to book Holiday Inn for the rest of our stay in the USA. That turned out to be a good decision, HI has all you would expect from a Hotel / Motel, they are clean, fresh and always have a good staff on the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Peter S,

Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you were able to find peaceful rest at our hotel and that the staff took care of your needs. Let us know if you have any further suggestions. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outside of Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My family stayed @ the Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Holiday Inn in May 2013 for a wedding we were attending nearby. The rooms were newly renovated and nicely done. What really stood out at this property was the staff - every person we interacted with was polite & helpful. It really made for a wonderful stay! There's a Houlihan's restaurant attached, which is convenient for meals. And there's a mall 5 minutes down the road, incl. Starbucks. All our needs were met here.

Room Tip: if you really need a view, it does overlook a golf course, with the blue ridge mountains off in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
theworldawaits,

Thank you for your business. We hope the wedding was beautiful. I have shared your comments with our entire team and they were very pleased that you found their guest service to be top notch. We hope you will return to see us soon!

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Who'd have thought you could find a first rate property, exuding comfort, class, top notch service, and a good value for your dollar right in Front Royal? Well, the Holiday Inn of Blue Ridge Shadows delivers on ALL of that and more. I recently stayed with several buddies for a golf outing--the hotel is attached to the Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Course and we all had a fantastic time. We used the hotel's golf package, which included two rounds of golf, cart, and unlimited free range balls on the driving range as well as breakfast each morning for one low price. There was good coordination between the course and the hotel, so we were expected in each place and our reservations and tee times all went off without a hitch. The room was spacious for a Holiday Inn, affording plenty of room and a tv with complete cable service (so we could watch the Nats that night)! Attached to the hotel is a Houlihans Restaurant, which provides a close in option for dinner or a late night round of drinks. The breakfast offered each morning at Houlihans included the option to eat from the buffer or order off the menu--what a deal. The staff in the restaurant, in the bar, and the hotel's front desk was friendly, attentive, and helpful. I love this property and will be back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Vabandit,

Thank you very much for the thoughtful and thorough review of our property and the services we offer. We are very glad you enjoyed all of the aspects of your golf package including Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar at the Holiday Inn. We are proud to have served you so well and we are pleased to hear you will return. Let us know if you have any further comments and we hope to see you soon.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (among the Best Holiday Inns) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (among Best New Holiday Inns). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, DuPont and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.