We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Hotel With A Good Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Livonia, MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Decent Hotel With A Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Holiday Inn is located on a golf course a bit north of Front Royal. The hotel was undergoing some carpet renovations while we were there, which caused some disorder, but it was generally clean and well kept. Once renovations are finished, it should be a good place to spend the night.

The spa and pool area was well-maintained and looked out over the golf course. Both were of nice temperatures.

The onsite restaurant provided tasty dinners and the breakfast was served freshly cooked. No warmed-to-death buffet items here. Since the hotel is outside the town, it was good to have a nice place to enjoy meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
orenw,

Thank you for your comments regarding the Holiday Inn and Houlihan's Restaurant. We appreciate your business during your recent visit. I have forwarded your comments to the Houlihan's management team as well. We hope you will choose to stay with us next time you visit the area.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    97
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
86
123
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I used my Prioriy Club points for this stay. There is a golf course adjacent to the hotel, room was in good condition and comfortable. The only negative would be that our room was next to the elevators and you could hear the hydraulics from the cars moving up and down. There are plenty of restaurant choices in the area, we ate at the restaurant connected to the hotel for dinner, very good.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
num1mnmeater,

Thank you for being a valued Priority Club member, your loyalty is appreciated. I would love for you to email me at GM@hifrontroyalva.com and let me know what room number your stayed in. In the few years we have been open I have never been told that a guest could hear the elevators from inside the room until now. We took great care in constructing the hotel to ensure the sound barrier between the elevators and the rooms would cause no elevators noise to enter the rooms. I will investigate this because it certainly is not something we want to have become a recurring issue. Thank you for your comments and for you business. We hope to see you soon.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Front Royal for two nights when we visited the USA for a wedding.
The hotel was recommended to us by the bride and groom as it was "close" to their wedding venue.

Our room was huge with very comfortable beds and a clean, modern bathroom. We would definitely recommend the breakfasts in the restaurant attached the hotel.

As our stay was quite short we didn't much of the surrounding area but took the time to spend a couple of hours driving along the Blue Ridge mountains. It was spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
TeamAB,

Thank you very much for coming to see us. We hope that the rest of your stay in the US went as you hoped it would. I am glad that you got a chance to drive along Skyline Drive and see the valley from the mountaintops. That is certainly a popular thing to see in Virginia.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I spent night recently in this Inn in a King size room. My original room was on bottom floor and I asked to be moved to higher location, which was granted. View from room was great and location from highway made for a peaceful night's rest. The room was large and roomy with bathroom located nice distance from bed. Since Inn is fairly new, the Inn was well maintained as well as beds, furniture, etc. Since I'm a light sleeper, would have liked for A/C to have been just a little quieter but that is a small negative for all the positives of this lodging. I would definitely stay again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
traveling4us_2013,

We are so happy that you choose to stay with us and that you have commented that you will return. We would love to have you back! Let us know when you are coming and we will do our best to get you moved to a higher floor on your next visit as well. We certainly agree that the view from up there is great. Thank you for your business and for your support.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I traveled in Northern VA all day from 9 to 3 then headed to Front Royal for my last contact. After a fast-packed day, I was extremely grateful for a peaceful night of rest. The hotel was quiet, ac was quiet, refrigerator....all quiet and a great atmosphere to have an awesome night of rest...I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
revstanley247,

We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for choosing our hotel and we are happy to have impressed you and earned your repeat business. Keep safe out there on the road and see you soon.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This Holiday Inn is pretty much what you would expect. It is a new hotel so nothing is broken or worn. It is located in a quiet spot north of I-66 and is kind of isolated, but only about a 5-10 minute drive from all of the shops and restaurants at 66. Check in was quick and we went up to change for a dip in the pool after hiking at Shenandoah. We stayed in a King suite that was on a back corner of the building so one window of the bedroom looked out over the golf course. The room had 2 flat-screen TVs, and a microwave and fridge. Sitting room had a desk and sofa and chair, oddly, the TV in here sits on the desk which might be distracting if you are trying to actually work. The pool is on the lower level and is pretty nice for a small indoor hotel pool, there is also an 8-person hot tub. They provide pool towels and there is a decent fitness room too with treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, weight machine and some free weights. They have a small store in the lobby for essentials but do not sell package beer or wine, I'm guessing because they are connected to Houlihan's and aren't allowed to sell. The Houlihan's serves as the hotel's restaurant and bar, we only ate breakfast there and it was good but the omelets were kind of small and the service was pretty slow.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the golf course choose suites on the West side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
thiswaythatway,

Thank you for being a valued guest of the Holiday Inn Front Royal. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We hope that you will choose us again next time you visit the area.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Location north of Front Royal and north of I-66 already in a nice green area with a huge golf club adjacent to the hotel. Booked a "View Room" overlooking that golf course and the mountains in the distance. Early check-in was possible as the occupancy was low and we got our room at the end of the hallway. Apparently all the "View Rooms" are at the ends of the hallway which makes them quite quiet.

Our roon (#202) had two beds and was quite good concerning its size. It had a fridge and a nice bathroom. It was clean and tidy.

The hotel has an indoor pool and a fitness room. Another highlight is the outdoor patio with chairs also with a view. We enjoyed sitting there and relaxing as the hotel had a power outage lasting a few hours but you can´t blame the hotel here.

Breakfast is not included in the rate but you go to the adjacent restaurant (which we didn´t so I can´t tell anything about it). Internet and parking were free of charge though the internet was quite slow.

Check out was quick and efficient. We can recommend the hotel although we´d consider staying in a property with breakfast next time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "View rooms" as the were quiet as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
urlaubsbaerchen,

Thank you for your kind words – there’s no better feeling than knowing that we provided our guests with a great night's sleep. It is a feeling we try to have everyday with our famed Shenandoah Valley hospitality.
I would also like to share that we offer a rate that includes breakfast at Houlihan's Restaurant, on property. This rate is called "Best Flex with Breakfast" and for a slightly higher room rate includes a voucher for $20 worth of breakfast. It is great for travelers who would like a nice, home cooked-sit down breakfast.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.