We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beautiful Exterior, Interior is imaculate
Staff friendly and helpful.
Pool and Hottub cleanest I have ever been in.
View and location are fantastic.
Restaurant was excellant.
Best Place I ever stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
373SusanT,

I am thankful for your recent visit and for your wonderful review. Your feedback is a valuable tool we use to ensure that each of our guests receive a stay similar to the one you experienced. We are glad that you found everything to your liking and we hope that, should you be in the area, you stay with us again.

Safe travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    97
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
86
123
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent stay. Clearly new, updated, and better than the other place around looked.

The restaurant is Houlihan's, but is locally run and is better than the average chain, and they go out of their way to do well. Food was remarkably good even ate there three days. given the limited selections in this area, you won't do better, I'm fairly sure.

Another nice touch--their little snack/convenience shop next to the front desk had prices that were similar to a 7-11 or similar store, not the usual ripoff prices seen in hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
hikingfamilyphilly,

I appreciate your review of your recent stay. Your review really validates our efforts here at the hotel as you mention many of the things we pride ourselves on the most. The made-from-scratch food in Houlihans, the affordable prices in our lobby store, our clean, new appearance of the hotel are all items that we take great pride in and we feel great to know that you noticed. Thank you very much for choosing our property and we hope to have you back soon.

Safe travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay at this hotel for a night as a small get away. On first entering the hotel, the lobby was expansive, clean and inviting. They had tables setup in there and actually had a family playing cards. There was also a fire going to make it very homey.

The staff was very friendly on check-in and made sure we had everything we needed.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The linens were fresh and the bathroom immaculate. Some of the rooms even have a gorgeous view of the golf course.

There is also a Houlihan's restaurant attached to the hotel that offered good food and a full bar for a decent price.

Overall, a very nice place to stay that is set in the northern part of the Shenandoah Mountains. Highly recommended if you are in that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Ishap,

Thank you for your recent stay for your couples getaway. We are pleased to know that we made your romantic trip into an enjoyable memory. It is our goal to ensure that we create positive memories for our guests when they choose to stay with us. Between our friendly, smiling staff and our clean, comfortable rooms, we feel that we have the tools to ensure that each of our guests leave as happy as your did. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Safe travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at this hotel and, as before, it was wonderful. The room is clean and quiet. We had a view of the Blue Ridge Mountains and it was beautiful. I really like staying at this hotel. We ate at the restaurant and the food was great. If you are in this area, I recommend this hotel. They don't serve a "free" breakfast, but I am ok with that since most of the "free" breakfasts are gross.

Room Tip: A room at the front gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
kkitt,

Thank you for your most recent stay, of the many stays, at our hotel. I especially appreciate your comments regarding the beautiful views form the hotel, especially the southern facing views of the mountains and the golf course. A lot of time and effort went into picking the perfect location for the hotel in order to give our guests the best possible views of the Blue Ridge. I am going to share your comments with our entire staff, including the restaurant staff, so that they will know that our repeat guests love what we are doing and so their strong guest service efforts may be validated. Be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do for you to better your stay experience. We are here to serve you. Thank you.

Safe travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton,CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our college road trip through the southern states. We were given a beautiful room with 2 queen beds and a gorgeous view of the golf course. Pool was warm and spa clean and worked well. We dined at Houlihans which adjoins the hotel. Very good food and reasonably priced. Two of us forgot our toothbrushes but the lovely person at the front desk remedied this. Hotel is brand new, rooms and baths very spacious. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room with a view and if possible the management will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
happytrailsEaston_CT,

Thank you for your recent choice to stay at our hotel. We appreciate your business. We also appreciate that you took some time to share your wonderful review of our property with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the feedback from our guests as it allows us to gauge the level of guest satisfaction that our staff is providing and make the necessary adjustments to ensure that each and every future guest receives the proper experience. While it seems as though this was a one-time trip through the area, we hope you will keep us in mind for a future stay if you find yourself visiting the beautiful Shenandoah Valley again. Thank you!

Safe travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel...

Great spacious room with comfy bed, nice flat screen tv , very good wifi Internet, nice fitness center...

Next to Houlihan restaurant which is a great value!!!

Very courteous customer service!!

A must !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
benoitleblanc,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. It is a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are very happy that we are doing well to exceed your expectations. Please be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Thank you, again, for your business and we wish you safe travels!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The front desk was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfy and clean. There was a Houlihanns attached to the hotel so you don't have to wander out to search for food. The front desk has a little gift shop which was convenient since I forgot my eyedrops. They have a gym and pool which were nice and clean as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
cswise86,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Front Royal and then choosing to write about your stay on TripAdvisor. It is our goal to provide clean and comfortable rooms serviced by a friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Your review mentions almost all of these guest room and staff traits so I feel comfortable knowing that we truly met your needs and we met our goal.

I am going to share your comments with the staff and management of the Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, the full-service chain restaurant located at our property and I am certain they will be pleased as well.

Regarding our lobby store, Choices, f you have any suggestions for items that we should carry in there please let us know. We are constantly updating our selections in there to meet the needs or our guests.

Thank you, again, for your business and we wish you safe travels!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.