We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersGold level
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas visiting family. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The lobby has a fireplace (not real but good enough!) The front desk staff were all very polite and eager to please.
The only negative, if you can even call it that, is the down comforters are very thin and flat so you don't get that cozy feeling. And when you are staying at a hotel during a snowy Christmas, that would have been nice!
Also, the breakfast that is supposed to start serving at 6:30 AM did not start until after 7 AM and we had to find other places to go to because we had early starts.
Other than that, I recommend this hotel. I stayed at the Hampton Inn last year and that, too, was nice, but not as new and spiffy as the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room of the golf course and Blue Ridge Mountains. Get a king with two beds and use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
GMreview4u,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. I am glad you made the decision to switch over from the Hampton Inn and I hope you were equally as glad. I have already spoken with the restaurant's General Manager regarding the breakfast hours. While this was a one time error, I cannot apologize enough for the mistake and the undue stress it caused you at such an early hour. Please contact me if there is anything else we can do for you. I want you to know that your comments, both good and bad, have been heard and I will ensure that our team is doing everything they can for all future guests to ensure that they are fully satisfied with their visits. Thank you very much for your business.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    96
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
85
122
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FAIRBORN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Holiday Inn at Front Royal during our fall trip of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Everyone was very nice. The room was clean and very comfortable. We also enjoyed the excellent food at the adjoining restaurant. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
MARY M,

Thank you for your business at the Holiday Inn and Houlihan's Restaurant during your recent road trip. I am going to share your comments with the staff at the hotel and the restaurant and I am certain that we be pleased to hear you were satisfied with our facility. Thank you.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here after an awesome dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. A quick Monday night getaway. We didn't want to spring for a room at the Inn and opted for the cheaper option. Seeing as we hit the Inn in the winter, it was very important to us that there was a hot tub / whirlpool option. Holiday Inn delivered. Love it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
leehinkle,

Thank you for making the leisurely drive up from Little Washington and staying at our facility. We appreciate that you choose to do this and we are happy to be your affordable lodging option for a lovely weekend away from home.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here one night in November. Seemed like a safe location. Hotel grounds kept up very nicely. Outside of hotel modern looking. Lobby clean and inviting. The hallways were well lit and clean. The room was spotless. Couldn't be cleaner. Very happy. Room was quiet. We didn't hear anybody else. Pool area was clean and a decent size. Somewhat stronger than usual chlorine smell though. However, kids still had fun. Front desk was ok. They were good but not outstanding. Check in and check out went smoothly, no problems but at both check in and check out the ladies seemed to just be going through the motions. Not overly friendly. Just doing their job. Still, we didn't encounter any problems so that was good. We would absolutely stay here again if in the area and we would recommend to others. Very well run hotel with spotless rooms. Thank you to housekeeping!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
qwop,

We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, so I am very proud to read your review. Thank you. I also noticed your comment regarding the pool area and a Bromine smell (we do not use Chlorine in our pool as we have found Bromine to be much better for our guests). We take the sanitation our our pool and hot tub water very seriously including at least three physical checks of water quality daily. I am sorry if, during your stay, you found the Bromine smell to be strong. This is never our intention and we will make a note of speaking with our Maintenance crew regarding this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here last week for Thanksgiving. It was spectacular. Not only for the fabulous view but for everything else.

Iris, at the front desk, was a true professional. Given it was a holiday weekend, she was warm, friendly and seemed happy to represent Holiday Inn in the best way possible.

The room was spotless, the beds were comfy and the pillows (4 for each bed) were either hard, medium, soft to choose from.

The bathrooms set up was perfect, refrigerator in the room as well. Spacious and comfortable.

Only problem were kids running the halls in the late evening but other than that it was quiet and peaceful.

I almost didn't want to review this hotel because I wanted to keep it a secret for myself ----- but I can't do that, so count me in as one of it's number one fans!!!! And I am very picky.

Room Tip: Higher is better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Poesjenel,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community and also for sharing the "tip" to stay on a higher floor for a better view. We agree that the view is amazing from the higher floors! I am going to share your comments with Iris and I can't wait to see how happy she will be to hear that she helped make your stay "heavenly". We look forward to your next vist and wish you safe travels along the way!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I called while on a road trip to make a reservation and the price quoted was more than I was willing to pay. However, i asked the reservations clerk if there might be a better price available. She thought about it a minute and then returned to the phone to ask if we would be willing to take a room without a view for a substantial savings. I quickly agreed because we would be checking in well after dark and leaving very early the next morning. i understand that the hotel has beautiful view of the mountains but if you are arriving late and leaving early, the savings are well worth it. I certainly appreciated her suggestion.Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet.Do be aware that no breakfast is offered with the price of the room but that did not matter to us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
west73,

We appreciate that you found us to be a cozy stay on your roadtrip and that our staff was attentive to your needs. You are correct that a great majority of our rooms have wonderful views of Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and the Blue Ridge Mountains, but we do offer rooms with reduced views and a generous discount. We are glad that you found this to your benefit.

We do offer a wonderful a la carte priced breakfast at our full service restaurant, Houlihan's, located on the lobby level, as we would hate for our guests to head out on the road hungry. We even offer a few rates that include the breakfast.

Thank you for choosing us and we wish you safe travels!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had my daughter's wedding reception here. The staff was great with both the planning stages and the execution. Lucy Warner, the events coordinator, was excellent. She was accessible, knowledgeable, professional and even cheerful throughout the whole process. She was great with last minute changes and answered all of my questions completely and accurately. The reception was beautiful, the food was great and the staff amazing. The entire thing well-exceeded my expectations. Having the reception at the same hotel as where the guests are staying is a real plus. The hotel rooms are clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Great value. =)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the golf course, very pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Marie A,

Thank you for choosing to have your reception at our hotel in addition to your guest room block. We appreciate the business and are certainly very happy that you enjoyed the wedding reception and everything that led to that joyous moment. I have already shown your comments to the sales and catering team, including Lucy, and they were proud to have served you so well. We wish your family only the best and hope you come back to see us!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.