We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I called while on a road trip to make a reservation and the price quoted was more than I was willing to pay. However, i asked the reservations clerk if there might be a better price available. She thought about it a minute and then returned to the phone to ask if we would be willing to take a room without a view for a substantial savings. I quickly agreed because we would be checking in well after dark and leaving very early the next morning. i understand that the hotel has beautiful view of the mountains but if you are arriving late and leaving early, the savings are well worth it. I certainly appreciated her suggestion.Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet.Do be aware that no breakfast is offered with the price of the room but that did not matter to us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
west73,

We appreciate that you found us to be a cozy stay on your roadtrip and that our staff was attentive to your needs. You are correct that a great majority of our rooms have wonderful views of Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and the Blue Ridge Mountains, but we do offer rooms with reduced views and a generous discount. We are glad that you found this to your benefit.

We do offer a wonderful a la carte priced breakfast at our full service restaurant, Houlihan's, located on the lobby level, as we would hate for our guests to head out on the road hungry. We even offer a few rates that include the breakfast.

Thank you for choosing us and we wish you safe travels!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    96
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
85
122
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Absecon, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had my daughter's wedding reception here. The staff was great with both the planning stages and the execution. Lucy Warner, the events coordinator, was excellent. She was accessible, knowledgeable, professional and even cheerful throughout the whole process. She was great with last minute changes and answered all of my questions completely and accurately. The reception was beautiful, the food was great and the staff amazing. The entire thing well-exceeded my expectations. Having the reception at the same hotel as where the guests are staying is a real plus. The hotel rooms are clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Great value. =)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the golf course, very pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Marie A,

Thank you for choosing to have your reception at our hotel in addition to your guest room block. We appreciate the business and are certainly very happy that you enjoyed the wedding reception and everything that led to that joyous moment. I have already shown your comments to the sales and catering team, including Lucy, and they were proud to have served you so well. We wish your family only the best and hope you come back to see us!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here in March 2011 but didn't write a review. I'm trying to get better at leaving feedback as I so highly value other people's feedback!

This hotel is in a great location; the room was spacious and clean (I had a king bed on the 1st floor), and the staff was very helpful and attentive - everything you want in a hotel!

I highly recommend this hotel and will use it whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
kbrown7k,

Thank you for visiting us on your trips to Virgina. We appreciate all feedback, so thank you for finding the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We like to print out copies of reviews that we receive and share them with the team to demonstrate the positive influence they can have on our guests. We will ensure that our staff sees your review and I am certain they will be pleased that you "Love this hotel". Thank you for choosing us!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful, clean, spacious room. Everyone was friendly and seemed happy to be doing what they were doing. It was comfortable sitting in the lobby and the room was comfortable enough to sit in and visit without sitting on the bed. Enjoyed my stay and will stay there on my return trip. Ate at the restaurant Houlihan's ...it was awesome and filled with locals!!

Room Tip: Only saw our room but it was very quiet...did not hear hall noise or noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Linda G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn and dine at Houlihan's. This means a lot to us. We also appreciate the glowing review you have left regarding our property. It is great to hear that we did a great job of designing the guest rooms to provide ample space and that you found our staff to be friendly and caring. We look forward to your next visit!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is lovely, fabulous views, top notch housekeeping, friendly staff, comfortable, on-site restaurant/bar. It's got everything really. Just 55 miles from Dulles International Airport but you wouldn't think so with views of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains and the lovely town of Front Royal just down the road. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
issy49,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We especially appreciate the high praise you gave to our friendly staff and our views. We pride ourselves on both. Our goal, of course, is to ensure that everyone has a similar experience to yours. Thank you for supporting our business and we hope to see you again soon.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice hotel. Views of the golf course and the mountains. Houlihans is attached to hotel which is quite convenient. Comfortable rooms with nice lounge chair in room. The only con is, it is a bit out of the main town but convenient to 66 and about 1 mile from a nice size shopping center. If you can find a deal it is very reasonable for the quality. I found $99 on booking.com. The photo is the view from my room on the 5th floor. The golf course is a top golf course.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
parisbaby2_11,

Thank you for the review and thank you for sharing a photo from your room. That is truly a great shot of the golf course. I see that you offered the suggestion that you can find a good deal online, please note that Holiday Inn offers a "Lowest Internet Price Guarantee" which promises that the best rates publicly displayed online will be found at our official Holiday Inn website. I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Front Royal and thank you for staying with us!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The only factor which stops me from giving this an overall rating of 5 is the lack of a safe in the room. For what is obviously a new hotel (road didn't feature on our satnav, so we had difficulty locating it), it was a surprise not to find one.

We booked this for our last 2 nights in the US, as it was conveniently located for an easy drive back to Dulles Airport and found it to be an excellent choice. Nothing much at Front Royal, but very close to the Skyline Drive, which is well worth a journey along.

Rooms are lovely and we had a view over the golf course. We were on the ground floor, but as the hotel is on a hill, were on the third floor above the golf course. So the best of both worlds from a security point of view, as I hate to be on a ground floor. Lovely view.

We dined in the restaurant attached to the hotel and, for the UK stomachs, found the portions to be of a reasonable size. We even managed the trio of puddings at the end. Typical american food, but well cooked.

Room Tip: Ground floor on the front is on a higher floor out the back. Beware no safe in the rooms. Lovely big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
HolidaymadSolihull,

Thank you for choosing to spend your last nights in the United States with us. We are always happy to provide you with a convenient, quiet and safe hotel room when you choose to stay with us. We understand your frustration regarding the lack of safes in the guest rooms. We hope to provide them some day, but there are no current plans to immediately add them. We wish you safe travels and hope you will choose us again if you return to the US.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.