We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must in Front Royal, Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Must in Front Royal, Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful, clean, spacious room. Everyone was friendly and seemed happy to be doing what they were doing. It was comfortable sitting in the lobby and the room was comfortable enough to sit in and visit without sitting on the bed. Enjoyed my stay and will stay there on my return trip. Ate at the restaurant Houlihan's ...it was awesome and filled with locals!!

Room Tip: Only saw our room but it was very quiet...did not hear hall noise or noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Linda G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn and dine at Houlihan's. This means a lot to us. We also appreciate the glowing review you have left regarding our property. It is great to hear that we did a great job of designing the guest rooms to provide ample space and that you found our staff to be friendly and caring. We look forward to your next visit!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    91
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
79
111
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is lovely, fabulous views, top notch housekeeping, friendly staff, comfortable, on-site restaurant/bar. It's got everything really. Just 55 miles from Dulles International Airport but you wouldn't think so with views of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains and the lovely town of Front Royal just down the road. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
issy49,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We especially appreciate the high praise you gave to our friendly staff and our views. We pride ourselves on both. Our goal, of course, is to ensure that everyone has a similar experience to yours. Thank you for supporting our business and we hope to see you again soon.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice hotel. Views of the golf course and the mountains. Houlihans is attached to hotel which is quite convenient. Comfortable rooms with nice lounge chair in room. The only con is, it is a bit out of the main town but convenient to 66 and about 1 mile from a nice size shopping center. If you can find a deal it is very reasonable for the quality. I found $99 on booking.com. The photo is the view from my room on the 5th floor. The golf course is a top golf course.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
parisbaby2_11,

Thank you for the review and thank you for sharing a photo from your room. That is truly a great shot of the golf course. I see that you offered the suggestion that you can find a good deal online, please note that Holiday Inn offers a "Lowest Internet Price Guarantee" which promises that the best rates publicly displayed online will be found at our official Holiday Inn website. I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Front Royal and thank you for staying with us!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The only factor which stops me from giving this an overall rating of 5 is the lack of a safe in the room. For what is obviously a new hotel (road didn't feature on our satnav, so we had difficulty locating it), it was a surprise not to find one.

We booked this for our last 2 nights in the US, as it was conveniently located for an easy drive back to Dulles Airport and found it to be an excellent choice. Nothing much at Front Royal, but very close to the Skyline Drive, which is well worth a journey along.

Rooms are lovely and we had a view over the golf course. We were on the ground floor, but as the hotel is on a hill, were on the third floor above the golf course. So the best of both worlds from a security point of view, as I hate to be on a ground floor. Lovely view.

We dined in the restaurant attached to the hotel and, for the UK stomachs, found the portions to be of a reasonable size. We even managed the trio of puddings at the end. Typical american food, but well cooked.

Room Tip: Ground floor on the front is on a higher floor out the back. Beware no safe in the rooms. Lovely big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
HolidaymadSolihull,

Thank you for choosing to spend your last nights in the United States with us. We are always happy to provide you with a convenient, quiet and safe hotel room when you choose to stay with us. We understand your frustration regarding the lack of safes in the guest rooms. We hope to provide them some day, but there are no current plans to immediately add them. We wish you safe travels and hope you will choose us again if you return to the US.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My office has worked with the Holiday Inn Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows on many events, and we are always very pleased with how easy Mary, Lucy, and their staff make the whole process. This month we tried to book a dinner and two-day meeting last minute, unfortunately the property already had another group in house for a portion of our dates. The group let out late on the day of our dinner, but the staff went above and beyond to flip the ballroom so our group could have our dinner right on time. That night I asked Lucy if we could move our start time for the day two meeting (which, thankfully, we were able to have there) an hour early and she assured me that would not be a problem. After staying late for the dinner and clean-up, Lucy and her staff were there early the next morning with smiles on their faces! We love the Holiday Inn and are so pleased to have such an excellent facility so close to the office! Additionally, we frequently use their rooms for our officers and guest when they are in town, and everyone loves the accommodations as well! Thank you so much for making conference planning so easy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
JLasky,

We appreciate your continued patronage of our meeting space and guest rooms. It will always be our goal to provide you with the level of customer service that you have come to know and expect. As you stated, our team will work tirelessly for your group and will always do so with a smile on their faces. Reviews such as yours help to validate our efforts. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

Mary, Amanda and Lucy
Holiday Inn Sales and Catering team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent a week here and walked away wishing I had a magic wand to make all Holiday Inn properties just like this one. The structure itself can be seen for quite some distance as it towers above the rolling landscape. The views of the golf course are a sight to behold especially with fall colors kicking into high gear. I had a 4th floor suite room that was bigger than my daughter's college apartment. A living area with a couch, coffee table and chair along with a desk easily 6 feet in length made up the "living room" area. A hallway to the rear leads to the bathroom, small kitchen area with fridge and microwave, spacious storage closet and then to the bedroom. I had commanding views of the golf course from all 3 of my room windows and it helped lead to a quiet and refreshing stay. My suite room had two flat screen TV's, one in front and one in the bedroom.

This hotel has 5 floors and then two other semi in ground floors labeled VL for Vista Level and PL which is the Pool Level. The PL Level is where you'll also find the fitness center. It's first rate both in size and equipment quality/variety. Outdoors, trek down the stairs on the left side of the building and they lead to a nice patio area which overlooks the golf course. The way this HI is landscaped in relation to all the hills is really neat. Much different from the usual flat as a pancake property located on some busy highway.

I didn't eat there, but Houlihan's restaurant is located on the main lobby level. Housekeeping does a great job keeping this HI shiny and new. In addition, the staff is courteous and friendly. I had absolutely zero issues during my week long stay and would definitely stay here again. I sent a couple of my co-workers, who enjoy golf, a text message bragging about my accomodations. With such a nice facility along with its surroundings I just couldn't help rubbing it in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Pinlifter,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for your extended visit to the area. It truly sounds like we impressed you in every way and our staff will certainly be proud to hear this when I share your review with them. Your words will certainly be posted in the employee break area for weeks to come. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wow! What can I say? From the moment we saw this hotel as we drove up to it, we just knew we'd made the right choice. It was our last stop on our 2012 trip to USA and was conveniently placed near Interstate 66 which we would be using to get to Dulles Airport for our flight home. At reception, although we arrived early, we were treated with 100% attention and quickly got our room allocated. This was excellent - both in decor and quality of fitments, etc. Later that evening, we had to check in online for our flight home and the printer in the business room was in need of paper and toner. We again received full attention from the Receptionist who sorted out these problems in minutes! We ate at Hoolihans Restaurant attched to the hotel for both evening meal and breakfast. The dinner and staff serving were fantastic and excellent value for money. The girl who served us at breakfast let the side down a little with her offhand attitude although she did serve us an excellent breakfast. All in all, a great hotel and one the staff should be proud to work in. We would certainly go again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Parkham,

Wow! Thank you for the "best review ever!!!". I hope you had safe travels back overseas and that you enjoyed your time in the United States. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (among the Best Holiday Inns) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (among Best New Holiday Inns). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, DuPont and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.