We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fries New River RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fries New River RV Park
Save
You added Fries New River RV Park to your Saves list
26 Dalton Road, Fries, VA 24330   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We recently spent some time traveling and enjoying the fall colors in the Blue Ridge and Fries RV Resort was our first stop. As soon as we pulled in, we were greeted by the quaintness, uniqueness and cleanliness of the park. We spent 4 days on site #2 - it was so picturesque and peaceful with its water wheel, babbling brook and elevated deck. Tom, the owner goes out of his way to make sure your visit to the area is just perfect - his wife even bakes muffins for your arrival! We enjoyed riding our bikes on the New River Trail, going to the Thursday night bluegrass jam session in Fries and learning to dance the 2 step and flat foot! The people in the surrounding area are kind, friendly, sincere and we enjoyed every minute of our time here. We are new to retirement and RVing and can not say enough kind words about the people we met and the tips we received -- the park's atmosphere is definitely one just like family . We are planning on returning in the spring and we will definitely be coming back to Fries RV Resort. Truly an enjoyable experience! Thanks Tom, Delita, Ed and Deanna for the wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Site #2 is large and picturesque with waterwheel, brook and elevated deck. Other sites in back of pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The owner is very informative and friendly. The park and restrooms are very clean. Super location for riding on the New River Trail.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland Park, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We loved our stay here! The campground is so peaceful with lots of immaculate landscaping and a creek running through it! Very clean and well kept! Such a nice place to just relax if you want but also lots of things to see and do! Bike riding, canoeing, hiking, nice relaxing ride through the Blue Ridge Parkway, etc.
The nicest thing is the owners. Such nice people making sure that your stay is enjoyable checking daily to see if we needed anything.Feel like we have two new friends now! Thank you Tom and Delietha for a wonderful stay at your campground! Muffins were delicious and we will be back. May God bless and keep you!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We just finished a 3-night stay at this RV Park--what a treasure! We were impressed by the cleanliness and quietness of this beautifully kept park. Its location and convenience to the New River Trail cannot be beat. No detail has been spared with the landscaping. What makes this park so special is its owners, Tom and Delieta. From the baked muffins upon our arrival, the personal delivery of the newspaper and other useful tourist info. the next morning, to the shuttle provided to us to another trail access point----all this and more made us feel so comfortable and welcome. We feel as if we've met two special friends, and will definitely be going back!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Fries (pronounced freeze) New River RV Park is located in the little town of Fries, VA. The park is in the middle of town, but you would never know it. While it is a little difficult to find, it is well worth the drive. The owners opened the park in 2006 and it is immaculately maintained. The grounds are excellently manicured. The bathhouse is spotless. The park only has 12 sites, therefore, a big bathhouse is not needed. The park office and bath facilities are located in the same building. The owners go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. They called me several times before our trip to make sure we had everything we needed to get there. They even called during our trip to make sure that we weren't lost. The park is small, but it has full hook-ups - except for the upper sites, which do not have cable. We took our satellite dish. All of the sites face a very small stream and are gravelled. I recommend the sites with decks. That's where we congregated for meals. The New River is a half block across Main Street from the park, and canoeing, kayaking, bicycling, and hiking are available. We also waded in the river. The town is small and charming. You are also close to the bigger towns of Galax, Hillsville, and Independence, VA. The Hillsville flea market over Labor Day weekend would be a good time to visit. only drawback is that the upper campsites are bordered by a public gravel road, so I had to warn my children about cars. The owners truly treat you like family, giving you homebaked breads upon your arrival. Tom is wonderful and we will visit again soon.

  • Liked — The beauty and cleanliness of the park.
  • Disliked — The lack of cable in the upper sites and the public road bordering it.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fries New River RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fries New River RV Park

Address: 26 Dalton Road, Fries, VA 24330
Location: United States > Virginia > Fries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fries
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All sites have full hookups including cable TV & WiFi description = If you want a pristine, quiet RV Park then Fries New River Trail Park is for you. We have spacious private sites able to accommodate the largest RVs easy in and out). One block from the park is a 57 mile bike/walking trail and the New River. Thursday & Friday nights enjoy bluegrass music in the nearby town and Saturday nights we have music in the park. Our greeting gallery and side porch is a great place for making new friends. This is one place you'll feel at home and hate to leave. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fries New River RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.