We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lil Cucci's Pizzeria

Lil Cucci's Pizzeria
14805 Forest Rd # 105, Forest, VA 24551
434 525-9510
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Forest
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Va, Usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have know the owners personally for many, many years. It is true that they don't serve alcohol, but this is a family-friendly restaurant, run by family and regular guests are treated like family. Very busy on Fridays and Saturdays, so get there early or prepare to wait.

Sandwiches (on homemade bread), turnovers (calzones), pizza or other Italian staples a all good, not to mention cannoli and homemade cheesecake for dessert! Wait staff is great and Shari runs a tight ship.

Everybody has their likes and dislikes, but I don't anyone will regret a decision to check out Lil Cuccis!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seriously the best pizza I ever ate!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The waitress was awesome. The chef/owner, Joe, was super friendly. The prices were reasonable. But, then the pizza came. I had a Sicilian. OMG!! This pizza was the best that I have EVER put in my mouth. I couldn't believe that it tasted so good. It is a small restaurant with limited seating, but I didn't care about that. Try the cheesy bread sticks and the Sicilian pizza. It is so good, you will just about die!!! Awesome experience and they will have a customer for life in me!!!!!! I plan on going back again this week.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gluten Free at this location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The pizza is ok, not great. A little too much cheese for my taste. I also found that the crust wa inconsistent. Either overcooked or undercooked, but rarely just right (culmination of multiple visits). A big plus:gluten free pizza! It isn't bad.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful people serving dreadful food. And no beer or wine.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

First of all, I don't care how good the pizza is, I am not eating at your restaurant if I can't get a beer. There should be a law about this - no one should be permitted to serve pizza without serving beer. Second, the pizza is awful so it doesn't really matter. The crust is ok, but the sauce tastes like it came out of the cheapest can at the grocery store and the cheese is tasteless. The list of toppings is completely unimaginative and those that I tried were just bad.

The atmosphere is blah. I suppose this location hasn't been here all that long, but it strikes me that this is one of those "family" restaurants that has been around since the sixties and has never done anything to improve or upgrade its menu or ingredients over the years.

The servers and cashier were incredibly nice and friendly. The people who run this place seem like genuinely wonderful folks. The place was very crowded on the Friday night we were there. Because they are so nice, I am happy the proprietors of Lil Cucci's seem to be doing well. Fortunately for them, a lot of people apparently don't drink beer and don't really care what their food tastes like.

With excellent pizzeria options in Lynchburg like Rivermont and Waterstone, I will never eat at Lil Cucci's again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Philly Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I love the philly steak sandwich. The owner remembers everyones name. Very friendly, clean and good prices

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lil Cucci's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lil Cucci's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lil Cucci's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.