We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Floyd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Floyd to your Saves list
Hotel Floyd
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Floyd
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, nicely appointed room with attention to detail. Quiet. Walking distance to the Floyd Country Store, and other attractions in the town. Huge expansion of the facility is in the works with new rooms, a lobby and breakfast options. We will be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    41
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
68
109
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I spent two different times there and will be going again in April. We were there because his cousin died and the staff was so accommodating knowing we had a lot to do. The rooms were very clean and a quiet atmosphere. It is within walking distance to the town of Floyd which is fun to go through the many shops and places to eat.

Room Tip: Get the staff to show you where to park so you don't have to walk up a concrete path ... much ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I wanted to escape the bustle of the holidays so we scheduled a one night trip to Floyd. We had visited the town numerous times but had never stayed overnight there. The Hotel Floyd seemed ideal, and it was. We had booked a standard king room but decided to upgrade to a suite. The woman in the office was helpful, efficient, and very friendly. She gave us a brochure with all of the week's town events and the hours and descriptions of restaurants. Our suite was immaculate, well lit, and comfortable. Nice bedding, nice linens...We arrived in the rain on a Sunday, so there was no construction going on, but I could hear work Monday morning. Other reviews mentioned how intrusive this was, but we were not bothered by the noise.
I really appreciated the attention given to eco-friendly details at the hotel. I would certainly recommend this lodging and would certainly return to stay again. Floyd is a unique town and the Hotel Floyd fits in perfectly.

Room Tip: Suites are all on the top floor. We stayed in the Writer's suite, which was far from the constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked this hotel with no idea of what to expect from the accommodations, Location or even what to expect in the town of Floyd. We could not be happier with our choice. Hotel Floyd is charming, convenient and relaxing.
We stayed in one of the suites, 2 bedrooms, living room and kitchenette. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean.
Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: If you arrive at night, don't drive to downtown:)
See more room tips
Green Features: Incredible, Furniture is made locally, Art is local, 90% Sustainable hotel
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Floyd Hotel. We stayed in the FloydFest room which was smallish, but lovely, with a delightfully eclectic decor and all locally made furniture. The room was comfortable, charming and quiet. The only reason for the lower rating is that the entire property is currently under expansion, making it somewhat less than perfect with all the construction debris visible, and the associated upsets you might expect with any development project in progress. It's a great location, with excellent access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and all of its attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloydManager, General Manager at Hotel Floyd, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the construction on our expansion project. Soon the siding will go up and the building will look more appealing and the site will be more pleasing to the eye. Thank you also for your nice comments about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlean, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is not my first visit. I have been coming to the hotel since it opened and try to come at least once a year. I am a frequent visitor to Floyd, and actually own a house within 10 miles of the hotel that I could access, but the hotel is something that I look forward to as a nice respite. Comfortable beds, great people, beautiful rooms, and I enjoy browsing the shops and dining at all of the 'walking distance' shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: I've stayed in multiple rooms and have never had a bad room. They are all lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: VERY impressed with the geothermal - I'm amazed how efficient, even and quite the system is. Even the bamboo flooring is lovely and works in with the enfironmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not our first visit. We came in the spring to see the rhodendrums in bloom along the blue-ridge parkway. Now we are back the see the leaves change. Hotel Floyd is a wonderful hotel that focuses on saving our natural resources. Nice hardwood flooring, recycle bins available real cups and glasses. I am happy to see that they are adding 24 news rooms and lobby. Construction should be completed by early 2014. We love to walk to the nearby shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Make early reservations for the weekends. I hear that the music is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Floyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floyd

Address: 300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Floyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Floyd 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A "Green" hotel located in downtown Floyd, VA, featuring local art and themed rooms. Hotel Floyd offers boutique design with all the amenities of an urban hotel. Hotel Floyd also has an outdoor pavilion that hosts a summer concert series every Thursday night May to October. Hotel Floyd also has 2 detached units that are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Floyd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Floyd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.