We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Motel to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Floyd

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Floyd to your Saves list
Hotel Floyd
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Floyd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
“A Pleasant Motel to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I spent two different times there and will be going again in April. We were there because his cousin died and the staff was so accommodating knowing we had a lot to do. The rooms were very clean and a quiet atmosphere. It is within walking distance to the town of Floyd which is fun to go through the many shops and places to eat.

Room Tip: Get the staff to show you where to park so you don't have to walk up a concrete path ... much ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I wanted to escape the bustle of the holidays so we scheduled a one night trip to Floyd. We had visited the town numerous times but had never stayed overnight there. The Hotel Floyd seemed ideal, and it was. We had booked a standard king room but decided to upgrade to a suite. The woman in the office was helpful, efficient, and very friendly. She gave us a brochure with all of the week's town events and the hours and descriptions of restaurants. Our suite was immaculate, well lit, and comfortable. Nice bedding, nice linens...We arrived in the rain on a Sunday, so there was no construction going on, but I could hear work Monday morning. Other reviews mentioned how intrusive this was, but we were not bothered by the noise.
I really appreciated the attention given to eco-friendly details at the hotel. I would certainly recommend this lodging and would certainly return to stay again. Floyd is a unique town and the Hotel Floyd fits in perfectly.

Room Tip: Suites are all on the top floor. We stayed in the Writer's suite, which was far from the constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabellesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked this hotel with no idea of what to expect from the accommodations, Location or even what to expect in the town of Floyd. We could not be happier with our choice. Hotel Floyd is charming, convenient and relaxing.
We stayed in one of the suites, 2 bedrooms, living room and kitchenette. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean.
Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: If you arrive at night, don't drive to downtown:)
See more room tips
Green Features: Incredible, Furniture is made locally, Art is local, 90% Sustainable hotel
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Floyd Hotel. We stayed in the FloydFest room which was smallish, but lovely, with a delightfully eclectic decor and all locally made furniture. The room was comfortable, charming and quiet. The only reason for the lower rating is that the entire property is currently under expansion, making it somewhat less than perfect with all the construction debris visible, and the associated upsets you might expect with any development project in progress. It's a great location, with excellent access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and all of its attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redbird810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloydManager, General Manager at Hotel Floyd, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the construction on our expansion project. Soon the siding will go up and the building will look more appealing and the site will be more pleasing to the eye. Thank you also for your nice comments about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlean, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is not my first visit. I have been coming to the hotel since it opened and try to come at least once a year. I am a frequent visitor to Floyd, and actually own a house within 10 miles of the hotel that I could access, but the hotel is something that I look forward to as a nice respite. Comfortable beds, great people, beautiful rooms, and I enjoy browsing the shops and dining at all of the 'walking distance' shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: I've stayed in multiple rooms and have never had a bad room. They are all lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: VERY impressed with the geothermal - I'm amazed how efficient, even and quite the system is. Even the bamboo flooring is lovely and works in with the enfironmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluridgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not our first visit. We came in the spring to see the rhodendrums in bloom along the blue-ridge parkway. Now we are back the see the leaves change. Hotel Floyd is a wonderful hotel that focuses on saving our natural resources. Nice hardwood flooring, recycle bins available real cups and glasses. I am happy to see that they are adding 24 news rooms and lobby. Construction should be completed by early 2014. We love to walk to the nearby shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Make early reservations for the weekends. I hear that the music is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildred5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamoine, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My daughter and I were traveling through with infants. First the negative: We arrived in late afternoon and the din from the construction at the hotel was almost overwhelming. And we had a lot of stuff to lug from the car to the room which was not easy to get to. There were trucks from the construction site in the nearest parking spots. However, the construction won't last forever and the room was nice and clean with amenities that counted: a fridge/freezer, great fair trade coffee (no awful pods or cheap coffee), and, best of all, a very comfy bed. I think the bathroom lighting could be improved. But I would stay here again if I ever pass through this part of the Virginia again.

Room Tip: I would select an upstairs room.
See more room tips
Green Features: It's great to stay at a green-conscious place.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank live&learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floyd
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#8 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
15.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Floyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floyd

Address: 300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Floyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Floyd 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A "Green" hotel located in downtown Floyd, VA, featuring local art and themed rooms. Hotel Floyd offers boutique design with all the amenities of an urban hotel. Hotel Floyd also has an outdoor pavilion that hosts a summer concert series every Thursday night May to October. Hotel Floyd also has 2 detached units that are pet friendly. Free full breakfast served every morning with locally homemade pastries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Floyd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing