We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the mountain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Floyd

Save Saved
You added Hotel Floyd to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Floyd
120 Wilson Street, Floyd, VA 24091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Floyd
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the mountain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Gosh, where to start? Clean, spacious, green, cozy, happy. I grew up in these mountains, and whenever I go back to visit, I cringe because there's no really great hotel to stay at--except for Hotel Floyd! I've been wanting to stay here for several years, but they fill up fast. No last minute weekend rooms here--plan in advance, especially in the warmer months and fall. This time I came up on a Sunday and stayed through Tuesday, and I got the Parkway room. It was just adorable! And everything is within walking distance. I'd wake up, head over to the Blackwater Loft for tea, then pop down to Natasha's Market Cafe for lunch. You could spend many days in this happy routine. The wifi was also excellent and reliable, something rare on the mountain!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    36
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
95
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We drove into nearby Willis for Yoga Jam at the last minute and were lucky to find a room at Hotel Floyd. We checked in late but staff was accommodating and friendly. The rooms are clean, well appointed and very nice. I love the local art and themes. I really like the forward-thinking of the entire place and the recycling and green concepts. The hotel is close to everything downtown and we jumped back onto the Blue Ridge Parkway in no time. The entire town is a fantastic break from the corporate chains of American businesses and the true heart of Independence beats strong in this community.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel Floyd is a very nice and well kept. The rooms are excellent we have stayed with them twice The check in is very smooth and the hotel grounds are very well kept Nice area to stay and relax and the town is very nice and they make you feel at home.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I love this hotel! Every room is done in a unique style, and eco friendly. The hotel is very clean and even supports local artisans and musicians! They have a fantastic and a but spooky, Confederate graveyard in front of the hotel. In walking distance of the downtown!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I never expected to find a hotel of this caliber in a small, non-resort town in southern Virginia. Floyd is known for bluegrass music. This town is filled with craftsmen and artisans; country stores;and the new buildings are green-built. Most businesses are located within 2 blocks of the stoplight.
The Hotel Floyd is green throughout. Metal framing. Local woods have been carved into the furniture and doors. Wooden pegs hold the wood together.Local artists works adorn the walls.Handmade, fragrance-free soaps are the norm. Fair-trade coffee is in the rooms. Artists tiles are incorporated in the shower walls.There are recycle bins available for all to use. The staff was friendly and helpful.
If you ever have the opportunity to visit Floyd, this is the place to stay.This hotel feels like home!

Green Features: Green-built. Cotton linens throughout. Native woods crafted by local artisans. Recycle bins are easily located. Fair-trade coffee.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We used to stay at The Inn at Hope Springs Farm when we were in the Floyd area, but with their closing, we had to stay somewhere else. We came upon Hotel Floyd based on their reviews in TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed. We shared the Artist's Suite with another couple, and we were pleasantly surprised. The suite was clean and open and airy, and had flat-screen HD TVs in both bedrooms and the common area. We had fun with the artist models that were part of each lamp. The hotel is within a block of "downtown" Floyd. You can easily walk to the Blue Ridge Restaurant and other local favorites.

If you're looking for a place to stay in or around Floyd, look no further.

Room Tip: The Artists's Suite had a king in one bedroom and two twins in the other. If I stayed here again...
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the idea that there were recylcing containers outside the rooms on both levels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Floyd quite a few times. The bamboo floors seem so much cleaner than carpet. The staff is very friendly, and always return calls when I leave a message. If no room is available when I call, I change my plans to be able to stay in this hotel. I especially like staying in one of the rooms with a view of the cemetery, but all the rooms we have stayed in are nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Floyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floyd

Address: 120 Wilson Street, Floyd, VA 24091
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Floyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A "Green" hotel located in downtown Floyd, VA, featuring local art and themed rooms. Hotel Floyd offers boutique design with all the amenities of an urban hotel. Hotel Floyd also has an outdoor pavilion that hosts a summer concert series every Thursday night throughout the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Floyd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Floyd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.