We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Friendly beyond description” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Meadow Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Floyd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney Meadow Inn B&B
Save
You added Stoney Meadow Inn B&B to your Saves list
208 Radford Road SE, Floyd, VA 24091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Floyd B&B and Inns
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Friendly beyond description”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

About a week ago, my wife and I spent four nights at this B&B. Our stay and experience was just marvelous, everything went perfectly and our expectations were met and surpassed in all aspects.

The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful, they provided us with useful information about places and roads, and showered us with all kinds of services and attention. Needles to say that Breakfast was just great, everyday was different and suited to our taste and needs. We particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit, and when my wife mentioned that she liked oatmeal, it was promptly prepared. Janet, the innkeeper, went as far as getting a special peach jam for me.

Our room was more like a suite, with a living room, a large bed, a "huge" bathroom, a porch area, and a walk-in closet. Everything was extremely clean and we had an abundance of towels and bed blankets.

Do not be put off by the fact that the inn is not right on the Blue Ridge Parkway, In fact the inn is about a 1/3 of a mile (gravel road) from the Parkway and close to 10 miles from the town of Floyd. Its location makes it very quiet and enjoyable, all surrounded by woods. On the grounds of this Inn, you will find some farm animals and even a pond full of gold fish. The innkeepers offered to let us take some with us, but unfortunately we could not do it.

There is no question that we would like to go back, and we emphatically recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Culleoka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Janet and George are the ultimate hostess and host. It's more like staying with old friends than a bed and breakfast. It is a beautiful location right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and an inviting and homey B & B. If you are traveling the Parkway I highly recommend you stay there. Janet made a superb breakfast and then dined with us. We were almost late leaving because we were enjoying the conversation so much.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back home from our weekend getaway to the Floyd Va. area. It was exactly what my wife & I was needing. Our hosts Janet & George greeted us & treated us like family and made us feel comfortable being in their home. Coffee & cake was made available to us upon arrival, and their recommendations as to where to dine in Floyd was helpful. Many have commented on the great breakfast that Janet prepares, and all are correct! The room (suite) is large, and the soaking tub was super after our hike on the Parkway. I would think the grounds would be especially nice in the spring/summer, but for a winter getaway, it was mighty fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset, England
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently enjoyed our stay at this warm and friendly family home B&B near Floyd VA. Janet and George are wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome. An early morning walk around the farm and then breakfast around the large dining table was delightful not just for the delicious food but the conversation too. Maybe not the easiest place to find on a first visit but to be fair this was down to our following independent directions and not those on the B&B website. When we had a little difficulty finding them Janet went out of her way to find us and guide us in! We love the Floyd area and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in early July and what a bargain for such wonderful hospitality! Homemade cake and other goodies await your arrival with a wonderful hostess. It is off the beaten path just a bit but we loved it more because of that. The town of Floyd is quaint and has become one of our favorite places. I do not think you will be disappointed in your stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recently stayed at this very private house. It was like being at home. No kidding- You have the entire first floor of the house, full kitchen and living room, and back porch as well, at your fingertips. Janet and George were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was plentiful and very good, and Janet's mother's homemade bread made it even better!! We took a walk every morning, enjoying the beautiful property and local roads. The is a friendly family dog- and horses, goats and chickens on the property let you know you are away from city life. But don't shy away, the house is beautiful, very clean, and every thing you could possible want or need is available. A friend and I met at Stoney Meadow to catch up after many years and it was a perfect place for relaxed visiting. It is a bit hard to find (be sure to print out a map and take it with you as you will likely lose your GPS signal). Yet it is very easy to find Floyd from the house once you know where you are. It is immediately off of the Blue Ridge Parkway, so perfect for touring. I would definitely return. It was a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Bc
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A beautiful house, a wonderful hostess, and a great breakfast. What more could you ask for? Maybe - a directional sign or two. We arrived late and our GPS got us close, but not close enough. We drove all the way to Floyd and phoned from a restaurant. The owner came and guided us there, bless her. But a sign or two on the road would have saved us all a lot of time and frustration.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Meadow Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Meadow Inn B&B

Address: 208 Radford Road SE, Floyd, VA 24091
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Floyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Meadow Inn B&B offers spacious accommodations in a peaceful mountain farm setting near the Blue Ridge Parkway milepost 151. We are 12 miles from the town of Floyd. Guests enjoy first floor suites and good home cooked food. On our 25 acres visitors may enjoy walking, petting farm animals, and watching abundant wildlife. George and Janet Nester are the Innkeepers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Meadow Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.